by Kacie Goff on 2019-06-27 11:24am
Whether you’re an insurance adjuster or producer in the state of Florida, you were probably pleased to learn that your license is perpetual. But even though no renewal is required, you still need to take steps to keep your Florida insurance license active. Specifically, you need to maintain an appointment by an appropriate appointing entity or person and you need to stay up-to-date on your Florida insurance continuing education courses.
You most likely set up your appointment when you first established your license. As long as you keep your appointment active (which is easier than ever thanks to eAppoint), you’re covered on that front.
That leaves your Florida insurance continuing education requirements. Here’s what you need to know about the courses required to keep your Florida insurance license active based on your license type.
Every Florida insurance producer and adjuster is required to take a certain number of continuing education course hours every two years. If you’ve been a producer or adjuster for fewer than six years, you’re required to take 24 hours of continuing education biennially. Once you hit the six-year mark, your requirement drops to 20 hours.
Whether you need 20 or 24 hours of education, you’re required to complete a Florida 5-hour law and ethics update as part of your hours.
The courses you need to take align with the type of Florida insurance license you have. Here’s a quick overview of the requirements by license type assuming you need 24 hours. If you only need 20, you can deduct five hours from the category that isn’t law and ethics update.
Note that the law and ethics update you need to take is specific to your type of Florida insurance license.
If you’re not sure how much Florida insurance continuing education you’ve taken in the current period, don’t worry. Just log in to My Profile (or set up your account, if you haven’t already). Then, click the blue button marked “Click to Check CE Status” to figure out your current Florida insurance continuing education requirements.
Once you know the courses you need to take, you can find the right ones for your license type and hour requirements here. All of these courses, including the Florida 5-hour law and ethics update courses, are approved by the state.