Oregon Insurance Continuing Education
We are an approved Oregon Division of Financial Regulation education provider (0At Your Pace Online, Provider ID# 10015032). As an insurance producer, completing your continuing education doesn't have to be a pain. With At Your Pace Online, you'll get the best value for your money, and you'll get the best experience. Our CE courses are approved by Oregon to meet your CE requirements. We'll also report your course completion to the state, for free!
Oregon 3 hour Statutory Changes
This 3-hour class fulfills the requirement for all licensed insurance producers to obtain continuing education on recent changes to the rules and laws that govern insurance. The class covers numerous changes that occurred from 2017 to the first part of 2021, including major developments in Balance Billing, Reinsurance, Prescription Drug Prices, EHBs, and the recent crises that hit the state. No additional reporting fees!
Oregon 3 Hour Ethics Review
This course discusses many different topics surrounding ethical practices, such as ethics versus morals, ethics in practice, ethical decision-making models that illustrate how ethical dilemmas may be solved, and the terminology used in ethics, such as tort law, equity, and more. The course will assist the student in making the proper ethical decisions, provide examples of poor ethical choices, and the legal enforcement of ethics.
Oregon 24 Hour Property and Casualty Package with Ethics
This package gives you all 24 of the CE hours that you need to renew, including 3 hours statutory changes and 3 hours ethics! This course applies to producers in all lines, and there are no additional reporting fees.
Oregon 24 Hour Life and Health Package with Ethics
This 24 hour package is designed to meet all of the requirements to renew your Oregon producer's license. The course will review key principles and concepts related to life & health insurance, including 3 hours statutory changes and 3 hours ethics.
Oregon 18 Hour Property and Casualty Review
This 18 hour course is intended for insurance producers that need to renew their professional license. The continuing education content in this course examines important types of property and casualty insurance such as dwelling and homeowners insurance, automobile insurance, commercial insurance, businessowners insurance, and workers’ compensation insurance.
Oregon 18 Hour Life & Health Review
The 18 hours of continuing education instruction in this course are concerned with life and accident and health insurance. An insurance producer will gain training on a number of topics including the general concepts of insurance, annuities, qualified retirement plans, disability insurance, dental insurance, long term care insurance, and the taxation of life and health insurance benefits.
Oregon 13 Hour Property & Casualty Review
This course applies to producers in all lines. Review key principles and concepts related to property & casualty policies. Learn the updated Oregon regulations for property, casualty, homeowners, dwellings, automobile and more. No additional reporting fees!
Oregon 8 Hour P&C Individual & Family Topics Continuing Education
This course will satisfy 8 hours of continuing education requirements for Property & Casualty insurance producers in Oregon. The focus of this course is on coverage for individuals and families: topics include dwelling and homeowner's insurance, renter's and condominium policies, and personal automobile insurance. No additional reporting fees!
Oregon 8 Hour Life Fundamentals Continuing Education
This course will fulfill 8 hours of continuing education requirements for a Oregon Life & Health insurance producer. We'll review some general principles of Life & Health insurance, and then we'll cover life insurance policies in general. No additional reporting fees!
Oregon 8 Hour Health: Fundamentals
This course is designed to provide 8 hours of continuing education for Oregon insurance producers working in Life and Health lines. Topics we'll cover include disability income, medical plans and more! No additional reporting fees!
Oregon 8 Hour Initial LTC Continuing Education Course
This 8 hour class is approved by the State of Oregon. It meets the mandatory initial continuing education requirement to start selling Long Term Care Insurance for those licensed in life or health insurance.
Oregon 8 Hour P&C Commercial Topics Continuing Education
This course will satisfy 8 hours of continuing education requirements for Oregon Property & Casualty insurance producers. The primary focus of this course is commercial policies, including topics in commercial auto insurance, commercial coverage policies, business owner's policies, and worker's compensation. No additional reporting fees!
Oregon 5 Hour P&C Fundamentals CE
This course will satisfy 5 hours of continuing education for Property & Casualty producers in Oregon. It is designed to provide a refresher on the basics of Property and Casualty insurance, and to provide some education on toxic mold and flood insurance. No additional reporting fees!
Oregon 5 Hour CE for L&H Federal Regulation & LTC
This 5-hour course is designed to satisfy 5 hours of continuing education for Oregon insurance producers in the Life & Health lines. In this course, we'll talk about the federal tax regulations that apply to life and health insurance, and we'll take a look at the changing landscape of Long-Term Care insurance. No additional reporting fees!
Oregon 4 Hour LTC Ongoing CE Course
This course applies to producers who need to renew their Long-Term Care Certification to continue selling LTC Insurance. This course will review key principles and concepts related to long-term care insurance policies. No additional reporting fees!
Oregon 4 Hour Annuity Suitability Course
This 4-hour course will meet your one time Certification Requirements to start selling Life Insurance Annuities in the state of Oregon. No additional reporting fees!
Oregon 3 Hour Applied Data Security for Insurance Producers CE
This 3 hour course for insurance providers will cover data security for the insurance producer. We will begin by examining the subjects of data and big data, then look at cyber attacks and how to defend against them, and then finish with a quick look at the future of digital security for the insurance industry.
Oregon 3 Hour NFIP Certification Course
This 3 Hour course will meet your one time Certification Requirements to start selling Flood Insurance in the state of Oregon. No additional reporting fees!
Oregon Toxic Mold Insurance (2 Hr)
This course applies to producers in all lines. This course explains the impact toxic mold has on the insurance industry and your customers. No additional reporting fees!
Oregon Renters and Condominium Insurance (1 Hr)
This course applies to producers in all lines. Renters and Condominium Insurance explains the benefits that these policies can offer your business. The course also explains what you need to know to maximize this lucrative and undeserved market. No additional reporting fees!
Oregon Anti-money Laundering (1 Hr)
This course applies to producers in all lines. Anti-money Laundering explains the impact the crime of money laundering has on the insurance industry. It also explains the efforts taken to prevent money laundering by the industry. No additional reporting fees!
Oregon Flood Insurance (1 Hr)
This course applies to producers in all lines. This class will introduce the history of flood insurance, how it's administered currently within the United States, and the prospects for the future. No additional reporting fees!
Oregon Insurance Continuing Education Requirements
In Oregon, the completion of state-mandated continuing education (CE) requirements is mandatory for all resident producers with the following lines of authority:
- Variable lines
Producers are required to complete 24 credit hours of CE every two-year license renewal cycle. At least three of the 24 CE credit hours must be in professional ethics courses. A further three CE credit hours out of the 24 required hours must cover Oregon statutes and administrative rules, including recent changes. No more than four credit hours will be granted for approved agency management courses.
In a single day, a producer may earn no more than eight credit hours of CE.
Rules for Non-Residents
A non-resident producer who has satisfied the CE requirements of their home state is exempt from Oregon CE requirements. This is conditional on the producer's home state CE requirements being substantially similar to those of Oregon.
Carryover of Excess CE
Oregon does not allow carryover of excess CE from one license renewal period to the next.
Insurance License Term Renewal Requirements
The licensing period for Oregon producers is two years. A license expires on the last day of the producer's birth month. The renewal year is based on the original licensure year, meaning producers originally licensed in an even-numbered year will renew on an even-numbered year, and producers originally licensed in an odd-numbered year will renew on an odd-numbered year.
Renewal notices will be e-mailed to the producer's email address on file with the Oregon Division of Financial Regulation. Notices will be e-mailed approximately 90 days prior to the license expiration date. Renewals must be completed electronically through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIRP).
An applicant from a non-reciprocal state (California, Hawaii, or New York) will not have their non-resident license renewed prior to confirmation that the applicant has passed the Oregon exam.
Rules for Taking the Exam
Self-study CE courses in Oregon require producers to pass a final exam with a result of 70 percent or higher to receive credit. The exam must be closed book and does not require a proctor so long as the course is computerized and includes safeguards ensuring the producer cannot review study material during the exam or change answers following the exam.
Rules for Repeating a Course
Within a single license renewal period, no CE course may be repeated for credit. However, a course from a previous license renewal cycle may be repeated during a subsequent renewal cycle.
Credit for Instructors
An instructor of an approved CE course is eligible to receive the same credit hours for the course they are teaching as the students attending it. During each two-year license renewal period, an instructor may only receive credit hours once from a given course.
Following a producer's successful completion of a CE course for credit hours, the provider shall electronically submit completion information for the course to the Oregon Insurance Division. Completion information must be submitted within 15 days after the date of completion. The provider may also issue a certificate of completion to the producer as well as submit the certificate electronically to the Oregon Insurance Division in accordance with directions provided on the Insurance Division website of the Department of Consumer and Business Services.
Insurance CE Requirement Exemptions
Non-resident producers who have met CE requirements in their home state are exempt from Oregon's CE requirements. This is conditional on the fact that the home state requirements are substantially similar to the requirements of Oregon. Other exemptions may be offered for those in active-duty military roles or those with long-term illnesses. Contact the Oregon Insurance Division directly to determine eligibility.
Oregon Annuity Requirements
Annuity producers in the state of Oregon are subject to special requirements. Any producer who wishes to sell annuity products must complete a one-time, four-hour CE course through a CE provider registered with the Oregon Division of Financial Regulation. Completion of the required annuity suitability training counts towards a producer's total CE credit hour requirements. This is conditional on the training being an Oregon-approved course, or if from another state, meeting the requirements of the state of Oregon.
An annuity suitability training course must cover information on the following:
- The types of annuities and various classifications of annuities
- Identification of the parties to an annuity
- How fixed, variable, and indexed annuity contract provisions affect consumers
- The application of income taxation of qualified and nonqualified annuities
- The primary uses of annuities
- Appropriate sales practices, replacement, and disclosure requirements
It is the responsibility of the insurer to verify that a producer has completed the required training prior to permitting the producer to sell the insurer's annuity products.
Oregon Long-Term Care Insurance Training Requirements
Long-term care insurance producers are subject to special requirements in the state of Oregon. Prior to engaging in the sale of long-term care insurance products, a producer must be licensed for life and health lines of authority. A producer is also required to complete a one-time, eight-hour training course on the topic of long-term care insurance. They must also complete four hours of ongoing training in long-term care insurance during each subsequent two-year license renewal period.
All courses must consist of topics related to long-term care insurance, long-term care services, and qualified state long-term care insurance partnership programs if applicable. Specific topics may include:
- State and federal rules and requirements
- The relationship between qualified state long-term care insurance partnership programs and other public and private coverage of long-term care services, including Medicaid
- Available long-term care services and providers
- Changes or improvements in long-term care insurance
- The effect of inflation on benefits and the importance of inflation protection
- Consumer suitability standards and guidelines
Courses are not permitted to include training on insurer or company products. Additionally, courses are not permitted to include training in any sales/marketing information, materials, or other training beyond that required by state or federal law.
Training required for long-term care insurance counts towards a producer's total CE credit hour requirements so long as the courses are Oregon-approved. If the training is received in another state, the training must meet the requirements of the state of Oregon.
It is the responsibility of the insurer to verify that a producer has completed the required training prior to permitting the producer to sell the insurer's long-term care insurance products.