Connecticut Insurance Continuing Education
We are an approved Connecticut Department of Insurance continuing education provider (provider ID# 103996).
Our online classes makes completing your continuing education a breeze. All of our courses can be completed At Your Pace Online in order to help you renew your insurance license, and never include any hidden fees. Once you complete one of our online courses, we will report your course completion directly to the state for you.
Connecticut 24 Hour Life & Health Review
This course provides all 24 hours of CE that you need! In it, we'll review key concepts and principles of Life and Health insurance. In addition to the general Life and Health topics, this course includes 3 hours of ethics education and the mandatory exam. Course fee includes the mandatory $3.75 per course filing fee.
Connecticut Department of Insurance ID: 109380 & 109378
Connecticut 24 Hour Property & Casualty Review
This course provides all 24 hours of CE that you need! This course will review key concepts and principles of Property and Casualty insurance. It includes 3 hour of ethics, 21 hours of Property and Casualty content and the mandatory exam. Course fee includes the mandatory $3.75 per course filing fee.
Connecticut Department of Insurance ID: 109379 & 109378
Connecticut 21 Hour Property & Casualty Review
This course provides 21 hours of Property and Casualty content and the mandatory exam. Course fee includes the mandatory $3.75 per course filing fee.
Connecticut Department of Insurance ID: 109379
Connecticut 21 Hour Life & Health Review
This course provides 21 hours of Life and Health content and the mandatory exam. Course fee includes the mandatory $3.75 per course filing fee.
Connecticut Department of Insurance ID: 109380
Connecticut 4 Hour Annuity Suitability Course
This 4-hour course will meet your one-time Certification Requirements to start selling Annuities in the state of Connecticut. Our course fee includes the mandatory $3.75 per course filing fee.
Connecticut Department of Insurance ID: 109540
Connecticut 3 Hour NFIP Review
This course is designed to meet the education requirements necessary for you to start selling Flood Insurance! Our class is based on the Basic Flood Insurance Course Outline published in the Federal Register, and fulfills the directive in the 2004 Flood Insurance Reform Act. Course fee includes the mandatory $3.75 per course filing fee.
CT Department of Insurance Course ID: 109479
Connecticut 3 Hour Ethics For Insurance Producers (LRE)
This Ethics for Insurance Producers course applies to producers in all lines, and satisfies the 3 hour ethics requirement for all CT insurance producers. Our course fee includes the mandatory $3.75 per course filing fee.
Connecticut Department of Insurance ID: 109378
Connecticut Insurance Continuing Education Requirements
Residents licensed with property and casualty, life, accident, health, and sickness, or personal lines authority must complete a minimum of 24 credit hours of department-approved subjects during each two-year (biennium) reporting period.
- Three credits must be in insurance law, regulations, or ethics subjects.
- At least six hours of the total requirement must be taken in each line of authority held.
Courses may be completed in an in-person classroom setting, online course format, or through self-study. Coursework completed for another state cannot be applied to the Connecticut CE requirement except where specific exemptions apply.
Additional guidelines for Connecticut CE requirements exist for several lines of work:
- Life settlement brokers are required to complete 15 hours relating to life and health every two years.
- Property, casualty, and personal lines producers are required to complete a one-time, three-credit CE course on federal flood requirements and the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).
- Insurance producers must complete a one-time, four-hour course to sell, solicit, or negotiate an annuity product. This is in addition to the 24 Continuing Education credits required for biennial renewal.
- Producers selling Connecticut Partnership long-term healthcare policies must meet Partnership Certification Training Program standards, composed of two parts: a prerequisite online course with a final exam and a four-hour classroom course conducted by Connecticut Partnership staff.
Note that the lines of authority held at the beginning of the current license period determine the CE requirement for the biennial renewal. Any lines of authority added or removed during the license period will apply to CE requirements for the next term.
Rules for Non-Residents
Non-residents are exempt from Connecticut CE requirements when renewing their license but are responsible for submitting a renewal application and payment by their license expiry date. Those who fail to claim this exemption must satisfy Connecticut resident requirements.
Carryover of Excess CE
Additional CE credit hours earned cannot be carried over from one biennium to the next.
Insurance License Term Renewal Requirements
Licenses expire biennially, based on the year of original licensing. The license expiration date falls on the last day of the licensee’s birth month. For example, a producer whose license was awarded in an even-numbered year will need to complete renewal requirements before the last day of their birth month in the next even-numbered year.
Renewals must be processed online at the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) website. Licensees are eligible to renew starting 90 days prior to the expiration date. An online renewal reminder with a renewal link will be e-mailed to you at least 60 days prior to the expiry date.
License renewal fees:
- $160 for insurance producers
- $250 for public adjusters and certified insurance consultants
- $625 for surplus lines, reinsurance intermediary brokers, reinsurance intermediary managers, and PA 187
- $80 for casualty adjusters, fraternal agents, and MVPD appraisers
You may submit a request for an extension of up to six months to the Insurance Commissioner of the State of Connecticut. This request must be received by the department at least 30 days prior to the license expiry date.
Connecticut residents in all license classes who fail to renew before their expiration date may reinstate their license for up to one year by completing the outstanding CE requirements and paying an additional late fee of $160. After this one-year period, you will be required to complete the pre-licensing education course and exam and submit a reinstatement application.
Rules for Taking the Exam
Certification exams are closed-book and students are not permitted to access course materials during the exam. Online exams must be monitored by an unbiased third party who will complete an online Declaration of Compliance. This document confirms understanding of, and adherence to, state insurance requirements and ensures the legitimacy of the exam results. Family members, friends, coworkers, or individuals with a financial interest in the exam-taker’s success may not act in this role.
A score of 70 percent or higher is required to receive the CE credit. Unlimited retakes are permitted until a passing score is achieved.
Rules for Repeating a Course
Credit will be granted only once for the completion of the same course during an individual renewal period. A course can, however, be repeated for CE credit in different renewal periods.
Credit for Instructors
CE instructors are eligible to receive the same credit as the students enrolled in their courses, but cannot receive this credit more than once per CE course during an individual renewal period.
Credits must be reported within 15 days of completion and should be submitted to the state directly by the course provider. You can check the status of CE hour completion through the National Association of Insurance Commissioners website.
It is recommended to complete all CE credits at least 60 days prior to the expiration of your license in order to give the CE provider sufficient time to report successful completions to the Connecticut Department of Insurance. However, CE courses can be completed at any time within the current license term.
A $3.75 per course reporting fee will be automatically charged to the licensee.
Insurance CE Requirement Exemptions
Some licensees may qualify for full or partial CE exemptions, including:
- Licensees serving in the U.S. military on active duty during a substantial part of the compliance period.
- Producers who passed their license examination within the last 12 months of a biennium are exempt from meeting the CE requirements for that period. (However, those licensed within the first 12 months of a biennium or reinstated at any time during a biennium are required to meet the CE requirements for that period.)
- Former non-residents who have become Connecticut residents in the last 12 months of a biennium may have 12 hours of their CE requirements for that period waived by submitting a certification letter from the previous licensing state.
In addition, producers whose only line of authority is in one of the following areas are exempt from state CE requirements:
- Credit life
- Credit accident and health
- Limited auto physical damage
- Limited home warranty
- Mortgage guaranty
- Motor vehicle service agreement
- Travel accident
- Travel baggage
- Bail bonds
Connecticut Annuity Insurance Requirements
Insurance producers must complete specific training to comply with Connecticut’s annuity suitability regulation. This requires completion of a one-time, four-hour course, and is in addition to other continuing education requirements.
This course covers topics such as:
- The fundamentals of annuity contracts
- Individual suitability
- Sales practices
- Variable and fixed annuities
- Immediate and deferred plans
- Different types of premiums
- Appropriate tax rules
This requirement may be waived for licensees who have satisfied similar annuity suitability requirements for another state.
Connecticut Long-Term Care Training Requirements
Both resident and non-resident accident and health producers who solicit, sell or negotiate Connecticut Partnership LTC policies are required to complete a one-time, seven-hour program to receive a Connecticut Partnership Certification. Successful completion of this program counts toward eight credit hours of your 24-hour CE renewal requirement (five credits toward life and health and three credits toward ethics).
The Connecticut Partnership Certification is awarded after completion of two-course components. First, you must complete an online prerequisite course and pass a 50-question final exam. This is followed by a four-hour classroom session taught by Partnership staff. There is a $150 fee for new certifications.