eInsuranceTraining.com

West Virginia Insurance Continuing Education

We are approved with the West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner education provider (Provider ID# 204809). If you're looking to complete your continuing education as an Insurance Producer in West Virginia, you've come to the right place. Whether you just need a few courses, or a course package, we've got something for you. Take the classes At Your Pace Online, anywhere and any time. Sign up today!

$80 TOP SELLER

West Virginia 24 Hour Property & Casualty W/ Ethics

clock hour icon 24h course

This course provides all 24 hours of CE that you need! This course will review key concepts and principles of Property & Casualty insurance. Along with 21 hours of general continuing education, this course includes 3 hours of ethics,and the mandatory exam. Your course tuition includes the $1.50/hr mandatory reporting fee required by the state.

West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner ID: 102379, 102380, & 102256

4.2 69 Reviews
$80

West Virginia 24 Hour Life & Health W/ Ethics

clock hour icon 24h course

This course provides all 24 hours of CE that you need! This course will review key concepts and principles of Life & Health insurance. In addition to important Life & Health content, it includes 3 hours of ethics, and the mandatory exam. Your course tuition includes the $1.50/hr mandatory reporting fee required by the state.

West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner ID: 102377, 102378, & 102256

4.3 87 Reviews
$65

West Virginia 12 Hour Property & Casualty Review

clock hour icon 12h course

This course will review key concepts and principles of Property & Casualty insurance, and provides 12 hours of CE. In addition to 12 hours of continuing education, the course includes a state-required exam. Your course tuition includes the $1.50/hr mandatory reporting fee required by the state.

West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner ID: 102379

4.1 7 Reviews
$65

West Virginia 12 Hour Life & Health Review

clock hour icon 12h course

This course will review key concepts and principles of Life & Health insurance. It includes 12 hours of education on Life & Health concepts, and the mandatory exam. Your course tuition includes the $1.50/hr mandatory reporting fee required by the state.

West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner ID: 102377

4.6 8 Reviews
$35

West Virginia 9 Hour Life and Health Review

clock hour icon 9h course

This 9-hour continuing education (CE) course is intended for West Virginias licensed Life and Health Producers. It provides the student with 9 hours of CE toward the full requirement of 24 hours in order to renew a license. The class focuses on some of the least understood areas in the L&H field, with classes on Life Insurance and Securities, Annuities, Group Health Plans Dental Insurance, Long Term Care Policies, Tax Considerations for Life Insurance and Annuities, and Federal Regulations Covering Life & Health Insurance.

West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner ID: 102378

4.2 6 Reviews
$35

West Virginia 9 Hour Property and Casualty Review

clock hour icon 9h course

This 9-hour continuing education (CE) course is intended for West Virginia licensed Property and Casualty Producers. The class emphasizes P&C for your business and industrial clients, with about 5 hours diving deeply into Business Owners Policies, with about an hour of class time devoted to each of the following: Commercial Auto, Workers' Comp, and Flood Insurance, finishing with a hands-on look at Renters and Condominium Insurance. It fulfills 9 of the 24 hours of CE required to renew your license.

West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner ID: 102380

4.7 10 Reviews
$29

West Virginia 8 Hour Initial LTC Course

clock hour icon 8h course

This 8 hour class meets the mandatory education requirement to start selling Long Term Care Insurance, and is approved by the State of West Virginia. Our course fee includes the mandatory $1.50/hr course filing fee.

West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner ID: 102598

4.0 5 Reviews
$21

West Virginia 4 Hour Annuity Suitability Course

clock hour icon 4h course

This 4 Hour course will meet your one time Certification Requirements to start selling Annuities in the state of west Virginia. Course fee includes the mandatory $1.50/hr filing fee.

West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner ID: 102531

4.5 6 Reviews
$21

West Virginia 4 Hour Long-Term Care Ongoing CE

clock hour icon 4h course

This course applies to producers who need to renew their Long-Term Care Certification to continue selling LTC Insurance. This course will review key principles and concepts related to long-term care insurance policies. Your course tuition includes the $1.50/hr mandatory reporting fee required by the state.

West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner ID: 102599

4.5 6 Reviews
$19

West Virginia 3 Hour Ethics Review

clock hour icon 3h course

This course provides 3 hours of Ethics CE. This course will review key concepts and principles of ethics in the insurance industry. Your course tuition includes the $1.50/hr mandatory reporting fee required by the state.

West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner ID: 102256

4.3 53 Reviews
$19

West Virginia 3 Hour NFIP Review

clock hour icon 3h course

This 3 Hour course will meet your one time Certification Requirements to start selling Flood Insurance in the state of West Virginia. Your course tuition includes the $1.50/hr mandatory reporting fee required by the state.

West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner ID: 102516

4.2 5 Reviews

West Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Resident Requirements

Resident producers must complete a minimum of 24 hours of approved CE subjects during each two-year (biennial) reporting period. Three of these credit hours must be in ethics subjects. There are no other subject requirements for completing biennial CE training. 

CE credit hours may be completed via any combination of in-classroom, self-study, or online coursework. 

Additional guidelines to this CE requirement exist for licensees who sell specific products, including: 

  • Long-term care: A one-time, eight-hour training requirement must be completed along with at least four hours of ongoing LTC training every subsequent biennial period.
  • Annuities: A one-time, four-hour training course must be completed. 
  • Flood policies: Producers must complete a one-time, three-hour course that covers the training requirements set by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).


Producers who are licensed only in pre-need burial insurance or telemarketing insurance products that use a Commissioner-approved script must complete only six hours of CE training each biennial period, including three hours in ethics subjects. 

 

Rules for Non-Residents

Non-resident producers in compliance with their state’s CE requirements are exempt from completing West Virginia CE.

If a licensee’s home state does not have CE requirements — or those requirements do not meet the standards for the license type or line of authority in West Virginia — the licensee will have to complete the associated CE requirements in West Virginia. This includes requirements set for licensees authorized to sell annuities, LTC, or flood products. 

The West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner may verify a non-resident’s compliance and standing with their own state’s license requirements.

 

Carryover of Excess CE

Licensees are encouraged to complete additional CE training, and up to six hours of this supplemental credit may be carried over into the next renewal period. 

Any excess credits earned in ethics or LTC subjects will count toward general credit in the next term. 

 

Insurance License Term Renewal Requirements

The license expiration date is the last day of the licensee’s birth month biennially, based on the year of original licensing. A producer whose license was awarded in an even-numbered year, for example, will need to complete renewal requirements before the last day of their birth month in the next even-numbered year. 

Individuals are eligible to renew their licenses beginning 90 days prior to their license expiration date. All CE requirements must be met to process a license renewal. 

Licenses may be renewed online at the National Insurance Producer Registry website or by mail. A paper renewal form can be downloaded at the Department’s website and must be received by mail with the renewal fee before the license expiration date. 

The license renewal fee is $50. There is an additional $6.18 transaction fee applied to online renewals.

Online renewal is unavailable for non-resident adjusters who have completed the West Virginia adjuster exam. 

The state of West Virginia sends licensees a renewal invoice approximately 60 days prior to expiry. This reminder is sent to the licensee’s address on record with the Offices of the Insurance Commissioner. It is the licensee’s responsibility to keep their contact information up to date with the Office and report any changes.

Failure to renew by the expiration date will result in license suspension. Licensees may reinstate their license within 12 months of the lapse by submitting a renewal application and the associated fees. A late penalty will be applied in addition to the individual’s renewal fee. 

 

Rules for Taking the Exam

CE exams are closed-book. Students may not access or refer to course material during the exam. 

Online and self-study exams must be monitored by an unbiased third party. Family members, friends, colleagues, or anyone with an interest in the licensee’s passing of the exam is not permitted to act in this role. 

The monitor must complete an online Declaration of Compliance. This document confirms acknowledgment of and adherence to the specific requirements outlined by the State Offices of the Insurance Commissioner. 

Students completing self-study coursework must sign and return a Disinterested Third Party Affidavit with their exam.

Failure to submit either of these documents will disqualify exam results.

A score of 70 percent or higher is required to receive CE credit for a course. Unlimited retakes are permitted until a passing score is achieved. 

 

Rules for Repeating a Course

Courses may not be repeated within the same renewal period. A licensee can repeat courses already taken to meet CE requirements for a subsequent renewal period. 

 

Credit for Instructors

CE course instructors are eligible to receive the same credit as that received by the students enrolled in the course they teach. Instructors are only eligible to receive credit for an individual course taught once per renewal period, however. 

 

Reporting Rules

Credits must be submitted to the state directly by the course provider within 30 days of course completion. Licensees must keep copies of course completion certificates in their files for four years. 

It is recommended to complete all CE at least 30 days prior to the expiration date of your license to give the CE provider sufficient time to report successful completions to the West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner. However, CE courses can be completed at any time within the current license term. 

A $1.50-per-course reporting fee will be automatically charged to the licensee. 

 

Insurance CE Requirement Exemptions 

Some resident licensees may qualify for full or partial CE exemptions, including:

  • Insurance adjusters
  • Individuals licensed only for limited lines credit
  • Individuals with limited lines licenses that do not require a certification exam
  • Individuals with limited or restricted licenses that may be declared exempt by the State Commissioner  
  • Producers who sell only pre-need burial insurance, who must complete six hours of CE training each biennial period, including three hours in ethics subjects
  • Producers engaging only in telemarketing insurance products that use a Commissioner-approved script, who must complete six hours of CE training each biennial period, including three hours in ethics subjects


Licensees who qualify for CE exemptions should contact the State Offices to verify this eligibility. 

 

West Virginia Annuity Insurance Requirements

Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in West Virginia, producers must complete a one-time, four-hour annuities training course. 

This course covers topics including:

  • The fundamentals of annuity contracts, individual suitability, and sales practices
  • Variable and fixed annuities, immediate and deferred plans, and different types of premiums and appropriate tax rules


This requirement may be waived for licensees who have satisfied similar annuity suitability requirements for another state. 

 

West Virginia Long-Term Care Training Requirements

Producers selling long-term care (LTC) products in West Virginia must complete a one-time, state-approved training course consisting of a minimum of eight hours. 

To maintain their status, producers selling LTC products are required to complete four hours of ongoing CE training every subsequent biennial period. 

Both the initial and ongoing training coursework can be applied to producers’ 24-hour CE requirement for license renewal. 

 

West Virginia Flood Training Requirements

Producers who sell flood insurance must complete a one-time, three-hour course that covers the training requirements set by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).

Continuing-Education State Approval Letters

WEST VIRGINIA INSURANCE DEPARTMENT

CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAM

Tony Bowers

0At Your Pace Online

1383 2nd Avenue

Gold Hill, OR 97525

 

CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE APPROVAL CERTIFICATE

Course Number: 102379

Course Name: 12 Hour Property and Casualty Review

Total Credits: 12.00

 

Type of Credits Credits
General 12.00

 

Provider Number: 204809

Provider Name: 0At Your Pace Online

Coure Type: Self Study 

 

This certificate was issued on 12-02-2014 and is valid through 12-02-2020.

Contact Prometric at pro.ce-services@prometric.com

WEST VIRGINIA INSURANCE DEPARTMENT

CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAM

Tony Bowers

0At Your Pace Online

1383 2nd Avenue

Gold Hill, OR 97525

 

CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE APPROVAL CERTIFICATE

Course Number: 102380

Course Name: 9 Hour Property and Casualty Review

Total Credits: 9.00

 

Type of Credits Credits
General 9.00

 

Provider Number: 204809

Provider Name: 0At Your Pace Online

Coure Type: Self Study 

 

This certificate was issued on 12-02-2014 and is valid through 12-02-2020.

Contact Prometric at pro.ce-services@prometric.com

WEST VIRGINIA INSURANCE DEPARTMENT

CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAM

Tony Bowers

0At Your Pace Online

1383 2nd Avenue

Gold Hill, OR 97525

 

CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE APPROVAL CERTIFICATE

Course Number: 102378

Course Name: 9 Hour Life and Health Review

Total Credits: 9.00

 

Type of Credits Credits
General 9.00

 

Provider Number: 204809

Provider Name: 0At Your Pace Online

Coure Type: Self Study 

 

This certificate was issued on 12-02-2014 and is valid through 12-02-2020.

Contact Prometric at pro.ce-services@prometric.com

WEST VIRGINIA INSURANCE DEPARTMENT

CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAM

Tony Bowers

0At Your Pace Online

1383 2nd Avenue

Gold Hill, OR 97525

 

CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE APPROVAL CERTIFICATE

Course Number: 102598

Course Name: 8 Hour Initial Long-Term Care Certificate

Total Credits: 8.00

 

Type of Credits Credits
Long Term Care 8.00

 

Provider Number: 204809

Provider Name: 0At Your Pace Online

Coure Type: Self Study 

 

This certificate was issued on 04-24-2015 and is valid through 04-24-2021.

Contact Prometric at pro.ce-services@prometric.com

WEST VIRGINIA INSURANCE DEPARTMENT

CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAM

Tony Bowers

0At Your Pace Online

1383 2nd Avenue

Gold Hill, OR 97525

 

CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE APPROVAL CERTIFICATE

Course Number: 102531

Course Name: 4 Hour Annuities Suitability

Total Credits: 4.00

 

Type of Credits Credits
Annuity 4.00

 

Provider Number: 204809

Provider Name: 0At Your Pace Online

Coure Type: Self Study 

 

This certificate was issued on 03-16-2015 and is valid through 03-16-2021.

Contact Prometric at pro.ce-services@prometric.com

WEST VIRGINIA INSURANCE DEPARTMENT

CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAM

Tony Bowers

0At Your Pace Online

1383 2nd Avenue

Gold Hill, OR 97525

 

CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE APPROVAL CERTIFICATE

Course Number: 102599

Course Name: 4 Hour Long-Term Care Ongoing CE

Total Credits: 4.00

 

Type of Credits Credits
Long Term Care  4.00

 

Provider Number: 204809

Provider Name: 0At Your Pace Online

Coure Type: Self Study 

 

This certificate was issued on 04-24-2015 and is valid through 04-24-2021.

Contact Prometric at pro.ce-services@prometric.com

WEST VIRGINIA INSURANCE DEPARTMENT

CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAM

Tony Bowers

0At Your Pace Online

1383 2nd Avenue

Gold Hill, OR 97525

 

CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE APPROVAL CERTIFICATE

Course Number: 102256

Course Name: 3 Hour Ethics Review

Total Credits: 3.00

 

Type of Credits Credits
Ethics  3.00

 

Provider Number: 204809

Provider Name: 0At Your Pace Online

Coure Type: Self Study 

 

This certificate was issued on 10-07-2014 and is valid through 10-07-2020.

Contact Prometric at pro.ce-services@prometric.com

WEST VIRGINIA INSURANCE DEPARTMENT

CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAM

Tony Bowers

0At Your Pace Online

1383 2nd Avenue

Gold Hill, OR 97525

 

CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE APPROVAL CERTIFICATE

Course Number: 102516

Course Name: 3 Hour NFIP Review

Total Credits: 3.00

 

Type of Credits Credits
General  3.00

 

Provider Number: 204809

Provider Name: 0At Your Pace Online

Coure Type: Self Study 

 

This certificate was issued on 02-10-2015 and is valid through 02-10-2021.

Contact Prometric at pro.ce-services@prometric.com