South Carolina Insurance Continuing Education
We are an approved South Carolina Department of Insurance education provider (Provider ID# 200737). Don't let your continuing education requirements get in the way of your business - take them when you want, where you want! At Your Pace Online offers South Carolina approved CE courses, available online using any internet capable device. Take the classes At Your Pace Online, and when you're done, we'll report your credits to SBS within five days!
South Carolina 24 Hour Life & Health with Ethics
This course provides all 24 hours of CE that you need! This course will review key concepts and principles of Life & Health insurance. It includes 21 hours of general content, 3 hours of Ethics and the mandatory exam.
SC Department of Insurance ID: 135072 & 134557
South Carolina 3 Hour Ethics Review
This course discusses many different topics surrounding ethical practices, such as ethics versus morals, ethics in practice, ethical decision-making models that illustrate how ethical dilemmas may be solved, and the terminology used in ethics, such as tort law, equity, and more. The course will assist the student in making the proper ethical decisions, provide examples of poor ethical choices, and the legal enforcement of ethics.
SC Department of Insurance ID: 6000101230
South Carolina 24 Hour Property and Casualty Package
The focus of this continuing education course is property and casualty insurance. By completing this course, an insurance producer will gain 24 hours of instruction that can be applied toward license renewal. This course discusses a number of topics including professional ethics, dwelling and homeowners insurance, automobile insurance, insurance for business owners, and workers’ compensation insurance.
SC Department of Insurance ID: 6000101230 & 6000101128
South Carolina 21 Hour Life & Health Review
This course will review key concepts and principles of Life & Health Insurance. This course provides 21 hours of Life and Health continuing education, and the mandatory exam.
SC Department of Insurance ID: 135072
South Carolina 21 Hour Property and Casualty Review
Insurance producers who take this course will gain 21 hours of continuing education on property and casualty insurance. This course discusses a number of subjects including insurance for private residences, automobile insurance, commercial insurance, and workers’ comp.
SC Department of Insurance ID: 6000099830
South Carolina 10 Hour Property and Casualty Review
In this 10 hour course, an insurance producer will gain instruction on property and casualty insurance for commercial enterprises. Specifically, the course discusses commercial package policies, businessowners insurance and workers’ compensation insurance.
SC Department of Insurance ID: 6000101129
South Carolina 8 Hour Initial LTC Continuing Education Course
This 8 hour class is approved by the State of South Carolina. It meets the mandatory initial continuing education requirement to start selling Long Term Care Insurance for those licensed in accident and health or life.
SC Department of Insurance ID: 136738
South Carolina 4 Hour LTC Ongoing CE
This course applies to producers who need to renew their Long-Term Care Certification to continue selling LTC Insurance. This course will review key principles and concepts related to long-term care insurance policies.
SC Department of Insurance ID: 136740
South Carolina 4 Hour Annuity Suitability Course
This 4 Hour course will meet your one time Certification Requirements to start selling Life Insurance Annuities in the state of South Carolina.
SC Department of Insurance ID: 136737
South Carolina 3 Hour NFIP Review
This course is required if you want sell Flood Insurance. The AYPO class on the National Flood Insurance Program is based on the Basic Flood Insurance Course Outline published in the Federal Register in September 2005 as a fulfillment of the directive in the 2004 Flood Insurance Reform Act. It will also count as 3 hours of Property continuing education.
SC Department of Insurance ID: 136742
South Carolina Insurance Continuing Education Requirements
Resident producers must complete 24 hours of continuing education, including:
- three hours in ethics
- eight hours in any line of authority held
If you have a dual license in life/health and property/casualty, you must complete at least eight hours in each line held in addition to the ethics requirement. Ethics courses may not be applied toward a given line.
Rules for Non-Residents
Non-residents may fulfill South Carolina's continuing education requirements by complying with the requirements of their home states. South Carolina is reciprocal with all other states in this matter.
Carryover of Excess CE
You may apply up to 18 hours of excess CE to the following term if you complete more than the required CE hours. Ethics hours carry over as general credits and will not meet the following term's ethics requirement.
Insurance License Term Renewal Requirements
You must complete your continuing education requirements for each term by the compliance deadline. The compliance deadline takes place on the last day of your birth month every two years. If you were born in an even-numbered year, your deadlines will occur in even-numbered years. If you were born in an odd-numbered year, your deadlines will occur in odd-numbered years.
Your renewal will not be available on the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) until you have completed your continuing education. You are encouraged to fulfill the requirements at least a week before your license's expiration date in order for minor delays to not prevent you from renewing your license.
If you fail to complete your continuing education on time, your license will lapse, and you will not be able to conduct any insurance business. Agency and broker licenses will likewise lapse until your producer license is reinstated.
You will have six months to reinstate a lapsed license by meeting all requirements and paying associated fees. If you fail to reinstate within six months, your lapsed license will be canceled entirely. In order to regain licensure, you will have to reapply for the license and retake and pass South Carolina's licensing exam.
Rules for Taking the Exam
In order to pass a continuing education course, you must score at least 70 percent on the final exam. This exam must be taken closed-book, which means that you may not refer to course material or any other outside sources while taking the exam.
All exams must be monitored by an impartial proctor - someone who has no financial interest in your performance on the exam. That person may not be an employer, supervisor, employee, spouse, relative, or minor.
If you do not pass on the first try, you may retake the exam as many times as you like.
Rules for Repeating a Course
CE courses may be taken only once for credit during each two-year term. You may retake the course for personal gain, but you will not receive additional credit.
Credit for Instructors
If teaching an approved insurance course, you may receive the same number of CE credit hours as the students taking the course.
Your course provider will submit proof of course completion on your behalf. You can look up how many CE hours you have completed and the number of requirements you have remaining through the State Based Systems (SBS) website, part of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC).
After you pass the course, the course provider will also issue you a certificate of completion. You must keep your certificate of completion for five years in order to resolve any disputes that may arise.
If you have completed a course but the credit hours do not appear on the SBS, contact your course provider directly and attempt to resolve the discrepancy with them before appealing to the South Carolina Department of Insurance.
Insurance CE Requirements Exemptions
If you hold only a limited lines license, you are exempt from all continuing education requirements.
All other producers are subject to the same requirement of 24 CE hours. As of January 1, 2010, all South Carolina laws granting exemptions, reductions, or extensions were repealed. If you were granted an exemption or reduction prior to this date, you will continue to be exempt or have reduced hours. However, if you add a new line of insurance or allow your license to become inactive, you will lose this status and will have to complete the ordinary 24 CE hours.
In cases of severe hardship, you may apply for a waiver of CE requirements prior to the end of your compliance period. You also must pay the renewal fee by this date. Applications must be made in writing to the South Carolina Department of Insurance, and waivers will be granted at the department's discretion.
Non-resident producers who have completed the CE requirements of another state are deemed compliant with South Carolina's CE requirements and are exempt from additional South Carolina CE.
South Carolina Annuity Requirements
Before handling annuity products, you must take a one-time four-hour training course. This four-hour course can be applied towards the total number of required CE hours for that term.
Individuals who have completed a substantially similar course in another state are exempt from this requirement.
South Carolina Long-Term Care Training Requirements
In order to sell long-term care (LTC) products, you must complete special training that includes:
- A one-time eight-hour course prior to selling LTC products
- Four hours of CE for each subsequent CE term
These training hours can be applied toward the total number of required CE hours for that term.
Individuals who complete substantially similar coursework in another state are held to be compliant with South Carolina's requirements as well.
In order to comply with the requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program, you must complete a one-time three-hour course before selling flood insurance.
These training hours can be applied toward the total number of required CE hours for that term.
Continuing-Education State Approval Letters
At Your pace Online
SBS Approval - South Carolina Insurance (as of 8.6.2020)
Course Title ID # Expiration date
21 HOUR P & C REVIEW 134379 06/11/23
3 HOUR ETHICS REVIEW 134557 05/19/23
21 HOUR LIFE & HEALTH REVIEW 135072 07/16/23
4 HOUR ANNUITIES SUITABILITY 136737 06/15/21
4 HOUR LONG-TERM CARE ONGOING CE 136740 06/22/21
8 HOUR INITIAL LTCP CERTIFICATION COURSE 136738 01/07/22
NFIP 3-HOUR CERTIFICATION COURSE 136742 05/15/21