eInsuranceTraining.com

Virginia Insurance Continuing Education

We are an approved Virginia Bureau of Insurance education provider (Provider ID# 136325). All of our online courses can be completed At Your Pace Online in order to help you renew your insurance license, and never include any hidden fees. Once you complete one of our online courses, we will report your course completion directly to the state for you.

$10 TOP SELLER

Virginia 1 Hour Annuity Suitability and Best Interest Obligations

clock hour icon 1h course

This 1 Hour course will meet your one time Annuity Best Interest requirement in the state of Virginia if you have previously completed a 4 Hour Annuity Suitability course.

VA Bureau of Insurance Course ID: 223336

4.4 37 Reviews
$14

VA Insurance 4 Hour Annuity Course

clock hour icon 4h course

This course provides you with the one-time four credit training on annuity best interest topics required before selling annuity products.

Specifically, this course includes the 2020 updates to the NAIC’s amended Model Regulations for annuity transactions. This course covers annuity suitability and best interest laws, as well as in-depth information on types of annuities, understanding each party of an annuity, contract structures, recordkeeping, contract provisions, and more. This course will teach students how to help a customer choose an annuity product that is right for them, and how to do so lawfully. 

VA Bureau of Insurance Course ID: 223335

5.0 5 Reviews
$60

Virginia 24 Hour Combo Course

clock hour icon 24h course

This course provides the 24 hours of CE needed for those holding Life & Health and Property & Casualty licenses! This course will review key concepts and principles of Property, Casualty, Life & Health insurance. In addition, it includes 3 hours of ethics and the mandatory exam.

VA Bureau of Insurance Course ID: 223274 & 223273

4.5 119 Reviews
$60

Virginia 24 Hour Adjuster Course with Ethics

clock hour icon 24h course

he focus of this continuing education course is property and casualty insurance. By completing this course, an insurance producer will gain 24 hours of instruction that can be applied toward license renewal. This course discusses a number of topics including professional ethics, dwelling and homeowners insurance, automobile insurance, insurance for business owners, and workers’ compensation insurance.

VA Bureau of Insurance Course ID: 223277

$40

Virginia 16 Hour Property and Casualty Review with Ethics

clock hour icon 16h course

This course is intended to provide insurance producers who are looking to renew their license with 16 hours of continuing education content. This course examines three general topics: ethics and ethical behavior, insurance for businesses, and specialty insurance policies.

VA Bureau of Insurance Course ID: 223276

4.4 245 Reviews
$40

Virginia 16 Hour Life and Heath Review with Ethics

clock hour icon 16h course

This continuing education instruction for insurance producers contains 16 hours of training on life and health insurance. This course addresses a number of topics including ethics, annuities, qualified retirement plans, medical plans, group health insurance, the Medicare program, long-term care insurance, and taxation of life and health insurance benefits.

VA Bureau of Insurance Course ID: 223274

4.4 716 Reviews
$25

Virginia 8 Hour Property and Casualty Review

clock hour icon 8h course

This course contains instruction on property and casualty insurance. Insurance producers who complete this course will gain 8 hours of continuing education that can be put toward requirements needed to renew a professional license. The focus of this course is common forms of insurance including dwelling, homeowners, and automobile insurance.

VA Bureau of Insurance Course ID: 223273

$19

Virginia 8 Hour Initial LTC Continuing Education Course

clock hour icon 8h course

This 8 hour class is approved by the State of Virginia. It meets the mandatory initial continuing education requirement to start selling Long Term Care Insurance for licensed producers. It includes 6 hours of LTC content and 2 hours of LTCP content as required.

VA Bureau of Insurance Course ID: 213383

4.7 33 Reviews
$15

Virginia 4 Hr LTC Ongoing CE

clock hour icon 4h course

This course applies to producers who need to renew their Long-Term Care Certification to continue selling LTC Insurance. This course will review key principles and concepts related to long-term care insurance policies. It includes 2 hours of LTC content and 2 hours of LTCP content as required.

VA Bureau of Insurance Course ID: 213385

4.4 38 Reviews
$14

Virginia 3 Hour NFIP Review

clock hour icon 3h course

This 3 Hour course will meet your one time Certification Requirements to start selling Flood Insurance in the state of Virginia.

VA Bureau of Insurance Course ID: 212509

4.7 45 Reviews
$14

Virginia 3 Hour Ethics Review

clock hour icon 3h course

This course discusses many different topics surrounding ethical practices, such as ethics versus morals, ethics in practice, ethical decision-making models that illustrate how ethical dilemmas may be solved, and the terminology used in ethics, such as tort law, equity, and more. The course will assist the student in making the proper ethical decisions, provide examples of poor ethical choices, and the legal enforcement of ethics.

VA Bureau of Insurance Course ID: 223271

4.6 365 Reviews

Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Resident Requirements

Resident producers and consultants must complete:

  • 16 hours of continuing education
  • 3 hours of ethics courses


Resident producers and consultants with multiple lines must complete: 

  • 24 hours of continuing education
  • 3 hours of ethics courses


Virginia laws and regulations courses may be taken to satisfy the ethics requirements.

Producers and consultants must take courses in the line of authority for which they hold a license. If you hold multiple lines, you must take at least eight hours for each license type held.

Public adjusters must complete:

  • 24 hours of continuing education
  • 3 hours of ethics courses


The remaining 21 hours must consist of some combination of a public adjuster, property and casualty, and mitigation courses. Public adjusters may not receive credit for courses designated as other general insurance (OGI) or insurance laws and regulations (ILR).

No more than 75 percent of the credit hours for any of the above CE requirements may come from agency-sponsored courses.

 

Rules for Non-Residents

Non-residents must be in compliance with Virginia's statutory CE requirements to maintain their license(s).

Non-residents who handle long-term care products must complete some of their training in Virginia.

 

Carryover of Excess CE

If you complete more than the required CE hours, you may carry over excess credits to the next license term. To carry excess credit hours to the next renewal cycle, you must have renewed during the 90-day renewal period.  

 

Insurance License Term Renewal Requirements

Both insurance producers and public adjusters must complete continuing education requirements and renew their licenses every two years. License(s) will have a renewal date based on your birth month and odd/even year of birth. For example, if you were born in an odd-numbered year, your license will expire at the end of your birth month in odd-numbered years.  If you were born in an even-numbered year, your license will expire at the end of your birth month in even-numbered years. This is a new requirement as of January 1, 2021. 

For those born in an odd year, their first renewal will be in 2023. Those born in an even year will have their first renewal in 2022, except for those born in January. They will renew in 2024.

If you fail to complete your continuing education on time, your license will be terminated.

Rules for Taking the Exam

In order to pass a continuing education course, you must score at least 70 percent on the final exam. This exam must be taken closed-book, which means that you may not refer to course material or any other outside sources while taking the exam. Virginia no longer requires a proctor to monitor the exam.

If you do not pass on the first try, you may retake the exam as many times as you like.

 

Rules for Repeating a Course

CE courses may be taken only once for credit during each two-year term. You may retake the course for personal gain, but you will not receive additional credit.

 

Credit for Instructors

If teaching an insurance course at the college or university level, you may receive credit equal to that of a student taking the course. You must have the course approved by Pearson VUE. You may only receive credit for each course once, even if you teach that course multiple times.

 

Reporting Rules

Your course provider will submit proof of course completion on your behalf. You may review your CE transcript at the website of the Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Board. You can view the remaining requirements there as well.

After you pass a course, the course provider will issue you a certificate of completion. You must keep your certificate of completion in your records in order to resolve any discrepancies. When you receive your certificate, you must check to ensure that all information is accurate. If there are any discrepancies in hours, you must contact your course provider and resolve the issue with them.  

 

Insurance CE Requirements Exemptions

If you hold only a limited lines license, you are exempt from all continuing education requirements. 

You may apply for a full or partial waiver of CE requirements prior to the renewal deadline with a written letter to Pearson VUE. Pearson will consider waiving requirements due to good causes such as illness, incapacity, or active military duty. You will be notified of their decision within 30 days. 

While you must submit your appeal by the CE deadline, it is recommended to submit any appeal early in the event that your request is denied.

Non-resident producers who have completed the CE requirements of another state are deemed compliant with Virginia's CE requirements and do not have to complete further CE.

 

Virginia Annuity Requirements

Agents licensed prior to September 1, 2021 who sell annuities in Virginia, who have completed the 4 hour training under the previous regulation, must complete a one-time one-hour course which includes the best interest standard by March 1, 2022.

Agents licensed on/after September 1, 2021, must complete a one-time four-hour course which includes the best interest standard prior to engaging in the sale of annuities in Virginia.

 

Virginia Long-Term Care Training Requirements

In order to sell long-term care (LTC) products, you must complete special training consisting of:

  • A one-time eight-hour course prior to selling LTC products
  • Four hours of CE for each subsequent CE term


These training hours can be applied towards the total number of required CE hours for that term.

Non-residents who complete the initial course in another state must complete an additional two hours of Virginia LTC Partnership training.

 

Flood Insurance

In order to comply with the requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program, you must complete a one-time three-hour course before selling flood insurance.

These training hours can be applied toward the total number of required CE hours for that term.

Continuing-Education State Approval Letters

Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Board

Pearson VUE ATTN: VA CE


Phone (877) 234-6092 Email:
VirginiaInsuranceCE@pearson.com 3 Bala Plaza West Suite 300 Bala Cynwyd, PA 19004-3481

 

COURSE APPROVAL

 

November 20, 2018

Mike Melvin

0At Your Pace Online 1383 2nd Ave Gold Hill OR 97525

Provider ID: 136325

Dear Mike:

The Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Board Course Approval Application, which you recently submitted has been approved. The course number, course name, number of credits approved, and the approval and expiration dates are identified below.

The approval for this course begins 01-01-2019 and expires 12-31-2020. Please remember you must complete the course offering schedule at least 10 days in advance of conducting this course. This course has been assigned a number, and this number must be used on the Internet, in all written advertising, and in correspondence with Pearson VUE, the Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Board’s administrator.

If you have any questions, please contact Pearson VUE at 877-234-6092 or VirginiaInsuranceCE@pearson.com always referring to the course number when contacting Pearson VUE regarding this letter. As an approved provider for the Virginia Continuing Education program, it is important for you to remain compliant with the requirements outlined in the Provider Information Handbook that may be found at www.VirginiaInsuranceCE.com.

Sincerely,

Pearson VUE VA CE Support Department

 

Virginia Course ID Name Instruction Method Hours Course Category Approval Date Expiration Date
218505

Virginia 8 Hour Life and Health Review

Self-Study 8.00 Life and Health 01/01/2019 12/31/2020

 

 

Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Board

Pearson VUE ATTN: VA CE


Phone (877) 234-6092 Email:
VirginiaInsuranceCE@pearson.com 3 Bala Plaza West Suite 300 Bala Cynwyd, PA 19004-3481

 

COURSE APPROVAL

 

November 20, 2018

Mike Melvin

0At Your Pace Online 1383 2nd Ave Gold Hill OR 97525

Provider ID: 136325

Dear Mike:

The Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Board Course Approval Application, which you recently submitted has been approved. The course number, course name, number of credits approved, and the approval and expiration dates are identified below.

The approval for this course begins 01-01-2019 and expires 12-31-2020. Please remember you must complete the course offering schedule at least 10 days in advance of conducting this course. This course has been assigned a number, and this number must be used on the Internet, in all written advertising, and in correspondence with Pearson VUE, the Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Board’s administrator.

If you have any questions, please contact Pearson VUE at 877-234-6092 or VirginiaInsuranceCE@pearson.com always referring to the course number when contacting Pearson VUE regarding this letter. As an approved provider for the Virginia Continuing Education program, it is important for you to remain compliant with the requirements outlined in the Provider Information Handbook that may be found at www.VirginiaInsuranceCE.com.

Sincerely,

Pearson VUE VA CE Support Department

 

Virginia Course ID Name Instruction Method Hours Course Category Approval Date Expiration Date
218511 Virginia 16 Hour Life and Health Review Self-Study 16.00 Life and Health 01/01/2019 12/31/2020

 

 

Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Board

Pearson VUE ATTN: VA CE


Phone (877) 234-6092 Email:
VirginiaInsuranceCE@pearson.com 3 Bala Plaza West Suite 300 Bala Cynwyd, PA 19004-3481

 

COURSE APPROVAL

 

November 20, 2018

Mike Melvin

0At Your Pace Online 1383 2nd Ave Gold Hill OR 97525

Provider ID: 136325

Dear Mike:

The Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Board Course Approval Application, which you recently submitted has been approved. The course number, course name, number of credits approved, and the approval and expiration dates are identified below.

The approval for this course begins 01-01-2019 and expires 12-31-2020. Please remember you must complete the course offering schedule at least 10 days in advance of conducting this course. This course has been assigned a number, and this number must be used on the Internet, in all written advertising, and in correspondence with Pearson VUE, the Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Board’s administrator.

If you have any questions, please contact Pearson VUE at 877-234-6092 or VirginiaInsuranceCE@pearson.com always referring to the course number when contacting Pearson VUE regarding this letter. As an approved provider for the Virginia Continuing Education program, it is important for you to remain compliant with the requirements outlined in the Provider Information Handbook that may be found at www.VirginiaInsuranceCE.com.

Sincerely,

Pearson VUE VA CE Support Department

 

Virginia Course ID  Name Instruction Method Hours Course Category Approval Date Expiration Date
218516 Virginia 16 Hour Property and Casualty Review Self-Study 16.00 Property & Casualty 01/01/2019 12/31/2020

 

Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Board

Pearson VUE

ATTN: VA CE

3 Bala Plaza West Suite 300

Bala Cynwyd, PA 19004-3481

Phone (877) 234-6092 VirginiaInsuranceCE@pearson.com

 

CERTIFICATION OF PROVIDER APPROVAL

October 12, 2017

 

0At Your Pace Online

Attn: MIKE MELVIN

1383 2nd Avenue 

Gold Hill, OR 97525

 

Dear Mike Melvin,

Your request to become a Virginia Continuing Education Provider has been approved. Your Provider number is listed below. Please include this number on all forms and correspondence that you send to Pearson VUE.

Provider ID is 136325 – You are a non-company provider.

If you have any questions, please email us at VirginiaInsuranceCE@pearson.com or call Pearson VUE at 1-877-234-6092.

Sincerely,

Pearson VUE VA CE Support Department