Nebraska Insurance Continuing Education
At Your Pace Online offers the most convenient and accessible classes to meet your needs. Our courses are approved by the Nebraska Department of Insurance (DOI) and will satisfy your CE requirements. We never charge you hidden fees or force you to pay for reporting your course, and your classes are available anywhere there's internet!
We will report your course completion electronically to the DOI within five business days, and provide a Certificate of Completion for your records. Sign up today for instant access! Provider ID #2288.
Nebraska 24 Hour Property & Casualty Review
This course provides all 24 hours of CE that you need! This course will review key concepts and principles of Property & Casualty insurance and it includes 3 hours of ethics.
NE Department of Insurance ID: 6000104238
Nebraska 24 Hour Life & Health Review
This course provides all 24 hours of CE that you need! This course will review key concepts and principles of Life & Health Insurance. In addition to a thorough review of important insurance concepts, this course includes 3 hours of ethics.
NE Department of Insurance ID: 6000104257
Nebraska 24 Hour Adjuster Package
This package provides all 24 hours of CE that you need as an adjuster! This course will review key concepts and principles of Property & Casualty insurance and it includes 3 hours of ethics.
NE Department of Insurance ID: 6000104258 and 6000104220
Nebraska 21 Hour Adjuster Course
This course provides 21 hours of CE for those licensed as adjusters! This course will review key concepts and principles of Property & Casualty insurance.
NE Department of Insurance ID: 6000104258
Nebraska 8 Hour Initial LTC Continuing Education Course
This 8 hour class is approved by the State of Nebraska, and meets the mandatory initial continuing education requirement to start selling Long Term Care Insurance for licensed Health producers.
NE Department of Insurance ID: 34992
Nebraska 4 Hour LTC Ongoing CE Course
This course applies to producers who need to renew their Long-Term Care Certification to continue selling LTC Insurance. This course will review key principles and concepts related to long-term care insurance policies. No additional reporting fees.
NE Department of Insurance ID: 34994
Nebraska 4 Hour Annuity Best Interest Course
This 4 hour course meets the Annuity Best Interest requirement for Nebraska producers authorized to sell annuities.
This course covers annuity suitability and best interest laws, as well as in-depth information on types of annuities, understanding each party of an annuity, contract structures, recordkeeping, contract provisions, and more. No additional reporting fees.
NE Department of Insurance ID: 6000098469
Nebraska 3 Hour Ethics Review
This course satisfies 3 hours of ethics training for any Nebraska insurance professional, and applies to all lines.
NE Department of Insurance ID: 6000104220
Nebraska 3 Hour NFIP Review
This 3-hour course will meet your one time Certification Requirements to start selling Flood Insurance in the state of Nebraska. No additional reporting fees.
NE Department of Insurance ID: 34906
Nebraska Insurance Continuing Education Requirements
Resident producers and adjusters must complete a minimum of 24 credit hours of Nebraska-approved CE subjects each biennial (two-year) license term, at least three of which must be in ethics subjects. For producers, the remaining CE coursework should be in courses approved for the lines of authority listed on their license.
CE coursework may be in-classroom, online, or through self-study.
Additional guidelines to this CE requirement exist for licensees who sell specific products, including:
- Life and health insurance: Producers must complete a one-time, eight-hour NAIC-approved LTC training course and four hours of ongoing LTC training every renewal period.
- Annuities: Resident producers must complete a one-time, four-hour training course.
- Flood insurance: Resident producers must complete a one-time, three-hour course that covers the minimum training requirements established by the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).
The Nebraska Department of Insurance also accepts courses that satisfy requirements for professional designations, including coursework for the LUTCF, CLU, ChFC, and CFP.
Rules for Non-Residents
Non-residents in compliance with their own state's CE requirements are exempt from completing Nebraska CE provided the home state's requirements are similar to those set by Nebraska law. This includes CE requirements for producers selling annuity and long-term care products.
Non-resident producers who do not have a CE requirement in their state may be required to comply with standards set for their line of work by Nebraska.
The Nebraska Department of Insurance may verify a non-resident's compliance and stand with their own state's license requirements.
Carryover of Excess CE
Excess CE credit hours earned cannot be carried over from one biennium to the next.
Insurance License Term Renewal Requirements
The license expiration date is on the last day of the licensee's birth month biennially, based on the year of original licensing. A producer whose license was awarded in an even-numbered year, for example, will have their license expire on the last day of their birth month in the next even-numbered year.
Licensees must complete their CE requirements at least 45 days prior to their license expiry date.
The Nebraska Department of Insurance sends licensees a renewal notice approximately 90 days prior to their license expiration date. This reminder is sent to the licensee's address on record with the Department.
Licensees can renew their licenses by returning the renewal form included with the notice along with their renewal fee to the Department by mail. They may also renew online at the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) website. CE requirements must be met prior to processing license renewal.
License renewal fees are $50 for insurance producers and adjusters.
Licensees who fail to meet the requirements for license renewal have 30 days after their license's expiration date to come into compliance. An expired license can be renewed online at the NIPR website or by mailing the renewal form to the Department. There is a $90 late penalty applied in addition to the renewal fee for renewing expired licenses.
After this 30-day period, producers with CE compliance can have their licenses reinstated by submitting a new application either online or by mail with the $90 late fee.
Rules for Taking the Exam
Certification exams are closed book, and students are not permitted to access course materials during the exam. Online exams must be monitored by a non-biased third party. Family members, friends, employers, colleagues, or anyone with an interest in the licensee's passing of the exam cannot act in this monitor role.
For exam results to be accepted, students must return a completed Nebraska Affidavit of Course Completion form to their education provider for each course completed. If a course takes place online, this form can be completed online after successfully passing the exam. For paper exams, students must complete a Student Compliance Declaration, and the monitor will complete a Third-Party Compliance Declaration before returning the exam for grading.
A score of 70 percent or higher is required to receive the CE credit. Unlimited retakes are permitted until a passing score is achieved.
Rules for Repeating a Course
Credit will be granted only once for the completion of the same course repeated during an individual renewal period. A course can, however, be repeated for CE credit in different renewal periods.
Credit for Instructors
CE course instructors are eligible to receive the same credit as the students enrolled in the course taught. Instructors are only eligible to receive credit for an individual course taught once per renewal period.
Credits must be reported directly to the state by the course provider within 10 days of course completion. Licensees must keep a copy of each certificate in their files for four years.
It is recommended to complete all CE at least 30 days prior to your CE due date (45 days before the license expiration date) to give the CE provider sufficient time to report successful completions to the Nebraska Department of Insurance. However, CE courses can be completed at any time within the current license term.
CE students are required to pay a $1.00 per credit hour reporting fee. This fee is paid to their education provider and then forwarded to State Based Systems (SBS.)
Insurance CE Requirement Exemptions
Some resident licensees may qualify for full or partial CE exemptions, including:
- Individuals holding a limited lines license for credit life or accident and health, auto mechanical breakdown, prepaid legal, motor club, prepaid dental, health maintenance organization, or unemployment credit insurance
- Crop-only producers and funeral directors, who are only required to complete six hours of CE coursework every biennial period (three of which must be in ethics subjects)
- Licensees only working in the funeral and title lines, who are required to complete nine hours of CE coursework every renewal term (three of which must be in ethics subjects)
- Viatical producers, who are required to complete 15 hours of CE coursework every renewal term (three of which must be in ethics subjects)
Licensees who believe they qualify for full or partial CE exemptions should contact the Nebraska Department of Insurance to verify this eligibility.
Nebraska Annuity Insurance Requirements
On April 7, 2021, the Nebraska governor signed into law Legislative Bill 22, which is based on the NAIC annuity suitability best interest model. A producer who desires to sell annuities must comply with the law, which is effective immediately. A producer who completed an annuity training course prior to July 1, 2021, must by January 1, 2022 complete a new 4 credit course approved by the Department of Insurance (DOI) after April 7, 2021, or an additional one-time 1 credit course approved by the DOI.
Nebraska Long-Term Care Training Requirements
Licensed Health producers in Nebraska selling long-term care policies are required to complete an initial one-time, eight-hour LTC training course.
To maintain their licenses, producers must complete four hours of LTC training every biennial renewal period. This training can apply to the licensee's total CE requirements.
Nebraska Flood Insurance Training Requirements
Licensees who intend to sell flood insurance must follow national guidelines. In order to sell flood insurance, the individual must complete a one-time minimum of three training hours as outlined by the National Flood Insurance Program and FEMA. This may be completed in any state in which the producer is licensed.