Montana Insurance Continuing Education
We are an approved Montana Commissioner of Securities & Insurance education provider (Provider ID#50000051)
At Your Pace Online offers the highest quality CE courses, with the best value and most convenient access. Don't let your continuing education get away from you! Sign up today for instant access, any time that suits you.
All of our courses below will count for Adjuster CE credit!
Montana 24 Hour Property & Casualty Review Package
This 24-hour course is intended for Montana property and casualty insurance producers and includes everything needed for producers to renew their professional license. The course begins with the important legal updates passed by the Montana legislature and continues into an in-depth discussion of professional ethics, both of which are required continuing education topics in the state.
Continuing, the material will examine important types of property and casualty insurance contracts including dwelling, homeowners, personal and commercial coverages, businessowner contracts and workers’ compensation that concentrates on aspects important to adjusters, such as coverage, exclusions, conditions and more.
This course is only intended for property and casualty insurance producers.
Montana 24 Hour Complete Life & Health Package
This 24-hour continuing education package will provide Montana insurance producers with 24 hours of continuing education needed to renew their license. This package will provide a current review of the key concepts for life and health insurance, professional ethics and the most current legal updates enacted by the Montana legislature.
Topics include the most current legal updates in the state, an in-depth discussion of professional ethics, general insurance concepts and definitions, life insurance basics, policies and provisions, and material that explores health and medical coverage. These sections of the course provide material on the basics of health insurance, current health insurance plans and disability income policies.
This course is intended for life and health insurance producers only.
Montana 24 Hour Complete Adjuster Package
This 24-hour course is intended for Montana insurance adjusters and includes everything needed for adjusters to renew their professional license.
The course begins with the important legal updates passed by the Montana legislature and continues into an in-depth discussion of professional ethics. Proceeding in the material, we will examine important types of property and casualty insurance contracts including dwelling, homeowners, personal and commercial coverages, businessowner contracts and workers’ compensation that concentrates on aspects important to adjusters, such as coverage, exclusions, conditions and more.
This course is intended only for adjusters.
Montana 12 Hour Life and Health Review
This course for insurance producers is made up of 12 hours of continuing education instruction on life and accident and health insurance. This course covers a number of topics including uses of life insurance, types of life insurance, policy provisions, health insurance fundamentals, and disability coverage.
Montana 11 Hour Property and Casualty Review
In this 11 hour course of study, insurance producers will find instruction on property and casualty insurance. The content of this course examines fundamentals of property and casualty insurance, insurance for private residences, and automobile insurance.
Montana 11 Hour Adjuster Review
In this 11 hour course of study, insurance adjusters will find instruction on property and casualty insurance. The content of this course examines fundamentals of property and casualty insurance, insurance for private residences, and automobile insurance.
Montana 9 Hour Property and Casualty Review
Upon completing this continuing education course, an insurance producer will have gained 9 hours of instruction on property and casualty insurance. The content of this course examines business owner’s policies, commercial coverage policies, and workers’ compensation policies.
Montana 9 Hour Adjuster Review
Upon completing this continuing education course, an insurance adjuster will have gained 9 hours of instruction on property and casualty insurance. The content of this course examines business owner’s policies, commercial coverage policies, and workers’ compensation policies.
Montana 8 Hour Initial LTC Continuing Education Course
This 8 hour class is approved by the State of Montana. It meets the mandatory initial continuing education requirement to start selling Long Term Care Insurance for licensed producers.
No additional reporting fees.
Montana 8 Hour Life and Health Review
This course is a collection of lessons that will provide an insurance producer with 8 hours of training on life and health insurance. This course talks about insurance in general, medical plans, the Medicare program, and long term care insurance.
Montana 4 Hour Long-Term Care Ongoing CE Course
This course applies to producers who need to renew their Long-Term Care Certification to continue selling LTC Insurance. This course will review key principles and concepts related to long-term care insurance policies.
No additional reporting fees.
Montana 4 Hour Annuity Best Interest Course
This 4 hour training course is designed to meet the National Association of Insurance Commissioners’ (NAIC) education requirements for producers authorized to sell annuities. Specifically, this course includes the 2020 updates to the NAIC’s amended Model Regulations for annuity transactions. This course covers annuity suitability and best interest laws, as well as in-depth information on types of annuities, understanding each party of an annuity, contract structures, recordkeeping, contract provisions, and more.
Montana 3 Hour Ethics Review
This course applies to producers in all lines. This course satisfies 3 hours of ethics training for any Montana insurance producer or adjuster. No additional reporting fees. This course will apply to Insurance Adjusters as well. It will fufill all 3 of the required Ethics hours Montana Insurance Adjusters are required each renewal cycle.
Montana 1 Hour Legislative Updates
Insurance licensees operating in Montana can satisfy their one-hour renewal requirement for legal updates on insurance related practices. A number of legislative changes, additions and amendments are discussed for all lines of license authority, including specific changes, additions and supplemental material on statutory and administrative code legislation. The material explores automobile and property claims practices, new legislation regarding self-storage units and operators, professional liability coverage for real estate licensees, and workers’ compensation legislation surrounding prosthetic devices and coverage.
The course continues with an exploration of direct patient agreements for health insurance and the provisions for the establishment of Health Care Ministries in the state. As well, Montana has legislated rules and laws regarding coverage for abortions in qualified plans offered through the health insurance exchanges. In conclusion, the material will discuss annuities and how Montana has placed the National Association of Insurance Commissioners Annuity Model Suitability Act into law.
Montana 3 Hour NFIP Certification Course
This 3 Hour course will meet your one time Certification Requirements to sell Flood Insurance in the state of Montana, and will apply to Insurance Adjusters as well. It will fufill 3 of the 24 hours Montana Insurance Adjusters are required each renewal cycle. No additional reporting fees.
Montana 1 Hour Limited Lines Credit
This course provides 1 Hour Limited Lines Credit Continuing Education! No additional reporting fees.
Montana Insurance Continuing Education Requirements
Residents of Montana who want to renew their insurance license need to meet the state's continuing education (CE) requirements. All licensed Montana residents need to complete the required CE hours in order to renew their licenses before the end of the two-year period unless they meet exemption requirements.
All insurance producers and adjusters must complete a minimum of 24 hours of insurance CE every year, including at least 3 hours dedicated to ethics and one hour dedicated to legislative changes. Producers whose licenses only cover limited lines of credit are only required to complete five hours of insurance CE and at least one hour of legislative changes per two-year term.
Rules for Non-Residents
Non-residents are exempt from Montana's CE hour requirements. However, every non-resident producer and adjuster in Montana must complete a summary report form explaining their compliance with their home state's CE requirements.
If the non-resident's home state does not have any CE requirements, the non-resident is held to Montana's CE requirements and must submit proof of course completion for the basic requirements of the state.
Producers from states without long-term care insurance CE requirements will be required to complete those courses in Montana to sell those products.
Carryover of Excess CE
In Montana, while excess CE hours benefit adjusters and producers, no hours from one two-year licensed period can be carried over into the next term.
Insurance License Term Renewal Requirements
The state of Montana renews licenses every two years. Montana sets licenses to expire based on the producer or adjuster's birth month. The first renewal occurs on the first day of the individual's birth month. Individuals born in odd-numbered years renew their licenses during odd-numbered years, and those born in even-numbered years renew them in even-numbered years.
In order for their licenses to be renewed, insurance adjusters and producers do not need to submit a specific form. The state automatically renews licenses up to 90 days prior to the license renewal date. This only occurs if the licensee has completed all of their CE requirements.
All CE requirements must be submitted to the state and approved before the renewal process occurs. As some reporting processes have delays, it is important for the licensee to complete their CE hours well in advance of the first day of their birth month in renewal years.
Rules for Taking the Exam
All Montana insurance licensees must take their CE exams as closed-book tests. No outside materials or information are permitted during the tests. Montana requires that all CE exams must be passed with a minimum of 70 percent correct. Failed exams may be retaken an unlimited number of times in order to receive credit for the course.
Montana CE course tests must be proctored by an unbiased third party. This person may not be a family member or someone who has a financial interest in the student's success.
Rules for Repeating a Course
Insurance licensees may not repeat a given course during a single two-year licensing period. However, once the licensed person has had their license renewed, they can retake the course for credit towards their next license renewal.
Credit for Instructors
Montana insurance continuing education course instructors are still required to meet any CE requirements for their own licenses. Instructors receive credit for the courses they teach. An instructor receives twice the CE hour credit of their students for any given course. Any given course may not be counted towards a renewal more than once during a specific renewal period.
The state of Montana requires CE course providers to submit completed course hours on behalf of the producers and adjusters who take their courses. Licensees do not need to manually submit their own CE hours. However, CE course providers can submit hours anywhere from the day of course completion to a month afterward, so licensees should confirm when hours have been submitted.
The status of completed CE hours can be checked on the National Association of Insurance Commissioners website.
Adjusters and producers should maintain their own records of their completed courses. The state of Montana recommends that insurance producers retain copies of their course completion certificates for at least three years after the date of completion.
Insurance CE Requirement Exemptions
There are several groups that are exempt from Montana's CE requirements. These groups are:
- Any licensee who currently holds a temporary license
- Any licensee who has been explicitly exempted from these requirements by the Montana insurance commissioner
All other producers and adjusters in Montana must complete the state CE requirements in order for their licenses to automatically renew.
Montana Annuity Insurance Requirements
In order to sell, negotiate, or solicit any annuity products, Montana producers need to complete a one-time annuity training course that is at least four hours long. Montana producers may not handle any annuity product before they complete this initial training course. However, non-residents who have received this training in their home state can count it towards their Montana requirements.
Montana Long-Term Care Training Requirements
Any adjuster or producer licensed to sell long-term care products is required to complete two types of training requirements in Montana. The first of these requirements is an eight-hour-long initial training course covering the fundamentals of long-term care policies.
The second requirement is a regular CE requirement of an additional four-hour CE course covering long-term care policies. This course does not apply to the standard 24 hours of CE requirements.
This long-term care training is federally mandated and covers subjects including:
- The purpose and function of long-term care products
- Types and varieties of long-term care products
- An explanation of qualified partnerships and how they interact with other forms of long-term care policies
All producers must meet these long-term care training requirements if they wish to sell long-term care products. This includes producers who are otherwise exempt from CE requirements per federal law. However, if a producer has completed the course in another state, it can be accepted for credit in Montana.
Montana Flood Insurance Training Requirements
Licensees who intend to sell flood insurance must follow national guidelines. In order to sell flood insurance, the individual must complete a one-time minimum of three training hours as outlined by the National Flood Insurance Program and FEMA. This may be completed in any state in which the producer is licensed.