Mississippi Insurance Continuing Education
We are a Mississippi Insurance Department approved continuing education provider (Provider ID# 15024007). All of our online courses can be completed At Your Pace Online in order to help you renew your insurance license, and never include any hidden fees. Once you complete one of our online courses, we will report your course completion directly to the state for you.
Mississippi 24 Hour Life and Health Review with Ethics
This 24 hour continuing education course is designed to help insurance producers renew their licenses. The course is broken into three parts that focus on ethics, life insurance, and health insurance. The ethics portion discusses the concept of ethics and what it means to operate in an ethical manner. The life insurance portion discusses such topics as uses of life insurance, types of life insurance, policy provisions, annuities, and qualified retirement plans. The health insurance portion covers a number of topics including health insurance fundamentals, health insurance policies, disability coverage, group health insurance, and long term care insurance.
MS Insurance Department ID: 22203
Mississippi 3 Hour Ethics Review
This course discusses many different topics surrounding ethical practices, such as ethics versus morals, ethics in practice, ethical decision-making models that illustrate how ethical dilemmas may be solved, and the terminology used in ethics, such as tort law, equity, and more. The course will assist the student in making the proper ethical decisions, provide examples of poor ethical choices, and the legal enforcement of ethics.
MS Insurance Department ID: 22198
Mississippi 24 Hour Property and Casualty Review with Ethics
The focus of this continuing education course is property and casualty insurance. By completing this course, an insurance producer will gain 24 hours of instruction that can be applied toward license renewal. This course discusses a number of topics including professional ethics, dwelling and homeowners insurance, automobile insurance, insurance for business owners, and workers’ compensation insurance.
MS Insurance Department ID: 22204
Mississippi 21 Hour Adjuster Course
Insurance Adjusters who take this course will gain 21 hours of continuing education on property and casualty insurance. This course discusses a number of subjects including insurance for private residences, automobile insurance, commercial insurance, and workers’ comp.
MS Insurance Department ID: 22202
Mississippi 12 Hour Adjuster Course
This is a 12 hour course that is intended for insurance adjusters who need to renew their adjuster license. The continuing education content in this course addresses various topics related to property and casualty insurance including core concepts of property and casualty insurance, automobile insurance, businessowners insurance, workers’ comp, and specialty insurance policies.
MS Insurance Department ID: 22199
Mississippi 12 Hour Property and Casualty Review
This is a 12 hour course that is intended for insurance producers who need to renew their producer license. The continuing education content in this course addresses various topics related to property and casualty insurance including core concepts of property and casualty insurance, automobile insurance, businessowners insurance, workers’ comp, and specialty insurance policies.
MS Insurance Department ID: 22201
Mississippi 12 Hour Life, Accident & Health Review
This course for insurance producers is made up of 12 hours of continuing education instruction on life and accident and health insurance. This course covers a number of topics including uses of life insurance, types of life insurance, policy provisions, health insurance fundamentals, and disability coverage.
MS Insurance Department ID: 22200
Mississippi 8 Hour Initial Long-Term Care Continuing Education Course
This 8 hour class is approved by the State of Mississippi. It meets the mandatory initial continuing education requirement to start selling Long Term Care Insurance for licensed producers. No additional reporting fees.
MS Insurance Department ID: 15222
Mississippi 4 Hour Long-Term Care Ongoing CE
This course applies to producers who need to renew their Long-Term Care Certification to continue selling LTC Insurance.This course will review key principles and concepts related to long-term care insurance policies. No additional reporting fees.
MS Insurance Department ID: 15223
Mississippi 4 Hour Annuity Best Interest Course
This 4 hour training course is designed to meet the National Association of Insurance Commissioners’ (NAIC) education requirements for producers authorized to sell annuities. Specifically, this course includes the 2020 updates to the NAIC’s amended Model Regulations for annuity transactions. This course covers annuity suitability and best interest laws, as well as in-depth information on types of annuities, understanding each party of an annuity, contract structures, recordkeeping, contract provisions, and more. This course will teach students how to help a customer choose an annuity product that is right for them, and how to do so lawfully.
MS Insurance Department ID: 22867
Mississippi 3 Hour NFIP Review
This 3-hour course will meet your one time Certification Requirements to start selling Flood Insurance in the state of Mississippi. No additional reporting fees.
MS Insurance Department ID: 15130
Mississippi Insurance Continuing Education Requirements
For each two-year license period, any agent who is not exempt must fulfill certain CE requirements before their license's expiration date.
Producers, adjusters, and public adjusters must complete the following requirements every two years:
- 24 hours of continuing education
- Three hours of ethics courses
You must take approved courses in the line of authority for which you are licensed. If you hold multiple lines, you may take courses in any line or combination of lines so long as the courses are taken to add up to 24 hours.
If you have only held your license for 18 months or less at the time it is set to expire, you must complete the following reduced requirements:
- 12 hours of continuing education
- No ethics courses
As with full two-year licensees, you must take approved courses in the line of authority for which you are licensed. If you hold multiple lines, you may take courses in any line or combination of lines so long as they add up to 12 hours. After this first renewal, your license will expire every two years, and you will be subject to the ordinary requirements.
Limited line insurance producers and limited credit insurance producers are exempt from all continuing education requirements.
You may not receive more than 8 hours of CE credit in a single day.
Rules for Non-Residents
If you are a non-resident in compliance with your home state's continuing education requirements, your CE hours may be used in place of Mississippi's requirements to renew your Mississippi license. Upon notification, the department will use the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) State Producer Licensing Database (SPLD) in order to verify your license status for another state.
Carryover of Excess CE
Additional education can be extremely beneficial, but it should be taken for personal profit alone. If you complete more than the required CE hours for any license term, you cannot apply excess hours to the next license term.
Insurance License Term Renewal Requirements
Licenses last two years and expire on the last day of your birth month. If you are a new licensee whose renewal date falls only 18 months or less after the initial licensure date, you are subject to the reduced requirements outlined above.
You may renew your license online up to 67 days prior to its expiration date. Producer renewals cost $100 for each line of authority, and adjuster renewals cost $50. A $25 technology fee is applied to all renewals.
If you allow your license to lapse, you may apply for reinstatement within 12 months of the license's expiration date after demonstrating compliance with all requirements. A late fee applies, but you will not have to undergo additional testing.
If your license has been expired for over a year, you will have to reapply in full, retaking any exams and submitting all required documentation.
Rules for Taking the Exam
In order to pass a continuing education course, you must score at least 70 percent on a final exam. The CE exam will be closed book, meaning that you may not refer to course material or any other outside sources while taking the exam. All exams must be monitored by an impartial proctor.
If you do not pass an exam on the first try, you may retake the exam as many times as you like.
Rules for Repeating a Course
CE courses may be taken only once for credit during each two-year term. You may retake the course, but you will not receive additional credit.
Credit for Instructors
Instructors are eligible to receive the same number of continuing education credits for teaching a course that the students receive for taking it. Instructors cannot teach any individual course more than once for credit in any given two-year term. However, they can teach more than one unique course during a term and receive credit for each.
Your course provider will submit proof of course completion to Sircon on your behalf. If you want to look up how many CE hours you have completed and the number of requirements you have remaining, you may receive a free continuing education transcript by filling out the requested information on Sircon's website.
If you have completed a course that does not appear on your transcript, you must contact your course provider directly. The Mississippi Department of Insurance cannot help you with this issue.
Each course provider will issue you a certificate of completion when you pass the course. Although they will submit your credit hours, you must keep your certificate of completion for five years in order to resolve any disputes that may arise.
The Mississippi Department of Insurance submits license and appointment information to the NAIC State Producer Licensing Database every day, but it may take up to two days for the information to appear there. If you hold a non-resident license for another state that will accept Mississippi's continuing education requirements, they may check on your Mississippi license status using this database.
Insurance CE Requirement Exemptions
There are three groups of licensees that are exempt from Mississippi insurance education requirements:
- Any non-resident producer or adjuster who completes the CE requirements of another state
- Producers who only hold limited lines licenses
- Inactive producers
All others must comply with Mississippi CE requirements.
Mississippi Annuity Requirements
Before handling annuity products, each licensee must take a one-time four-hour course approved by the Mississippi Department of Insurance. This four-hour course will apply towards the general CE requirements for that license term.
Individuals who complete a substantially similar course in another state are exempt from this requirement.
Mississippi Flood Insurance Training Requirements
Licensees who intend to sell flood insurance must follow national guidelines. In order to sell flood insurance, the individual must complete a one-time minimum of three training hours as outlined by the National Flood Insurance Program and FEMA. This may be completed in any state in which the producer is licensed.