North Carolina Insurance Continuing Education
We are an approved North Carolina Department of Insurance education provider (Provider ID# 10017514). Your continuing education requirements don't have to interrupt your business. With At Your Pace Online, you'll get quality Insurance Producer CE classes, at great prices, with around-the-clock accessibility. Our internet-based courses are easy to use, and you'll get access as soon as you sign up! When you finish the course, we'll report your credits to North Carolina.
North Carolina 3 Hour Ethics Review
This course discusses many different topics surrounding ethical practices, such as ethics versus morals, ethics in practice, ethical decision-making models that illustrate how ethical dilemmas may be solved, and the terminology used in ethics, such as tort law, equity, and more. The course will assist the student in making the proper ethical decisions, provide examples of poor ethical choices, and the legal enforcement of ethics.
NC Insurance Department ID: 214485
North Carolina 24 Hour Life and Health Review
This 24 hour continuing education course is designed to help insurance producers renew their licenses. The course is broken into three parts that focus on ethics, life insurance, and health insurance. The ethics portion discusses the concept of ethics and what it means to operate in an ethical manner. The life insurance portion discusses such topics as uses of life insurance, types of life insurance, policy provisions, annuities, and qualified retirement plans. The health insurance portion covers a number of topics including health insurance fundamentals, health insurance policies, disability coverage, group health insurance, and long term care insurance.
NC Department of Insurance ID: 214487
North Carolina 3 Hour NFIP Course
This course provides the Mandatory 3 hour Education Requirement to sell Flood Insurance! This course will also count for 3 hours of general continuing education if you do not sell Flood Insurance. No additional reporting fees.
NC Insurance Department ID: 203131
North Carolina 27 Hour Property and Casualty w/ NFIP
This course provides 27 hours of CE, and will cover key principles of Property & Casualty insurance. In addition to reviewing core concepts of P&C insurance, this course includes 3 hours of ethics, 3 hours of NFIP education, and the mandatory exam. No additional reporting fees.
NC Department of Insurance ID: 214488, 203131
North Carolina 24 Hour Property and Casualty Review
The focus of this continuing education course is property and casualty insurance. By completing this course, an insurance producer will gain 24 hours of instruction that can be applied toward license renewal. This course discusses a number of topics including professional ethics, dwelling and homeowners insurance, automobile insurance, insurance for business owners, and workers’ compensation insurance.
NC Department of Insurance ID: 214488
Note - This course does not include NFIP. If you need your NFIP requirement this renewal cycle, take our 27 hour Property & Casualty w/ NFIP course.
North Carolina 8 Hour Initial LTC Continuing Education Course
This 8 hour class is approved by the State of North Carolina, and meets the mandatory education requirement to start selling Long Term Care Partnership Insurance.
You MUST have your Medicare Supplement/LTC Insurance License for this course to qualify you to start producing the additional line.
No additional reporting fees.
NC Insurance Department ID: 203589
North Carolina 4 Hr LTC Ongoing CE
This course applies to producers who need to renew their Long-Term Care Certification to continue selling LTC Insurance. It will review key principles and concepts related to long-term care insurance policies. No additional reporting fees.
NC Insurance Department ID: 203567
North Carolina Insurance Continuing Education Requirements
Residents of North Carolina must complete continuing education requirements in order to renew their insurance licenses. Both insurance producers and insurance adjusters must complete 24 hours of continuing education biennially. Three of those hours must be designated as belonging to ethics courses.
Depending on your specific branch of insurance, you may have additional specific courses you are required to take. These specific courses also count toward your CE requirements.
Up to four hours of continuing education hours each term may come from participating in approved professional industry or national industry organization meetings. All other continuing education hours must come from:
- Online courses
- Print correspondence
- Company seminars
- In-person courses
- Computer-based trainings (CD/CBT)
Rules for Non-Residents
In order to meet North Carolina CE requirements, non-residents must meet their home state's continuing education requirements. As long as the requirements in their home state are generally similar to those in North Carolina, the licensee is considered to be in compliance with North Carolina CE requirements.
Carryover of Excess Continuing Education
Any excess continuing education hours can be carried over into the next term. Excess ethics or flood training hours are carried into the next term as general hours, not as ethics or flood hours. This ensures that ethics and flood training are happening regularly.
Insurance License Term Renewal Requirements
Insurance licenses are good for a maximum of two years. License renewal dates are based on the licensee's birth date rather than on the date the licensee originally filed for their insurance license.
Licenses expire at the end of the licensee's birth month. If you were born in an even year, your license always expires in even-numbered years, while if you were born in an odd year, your license always expires in odd-numbered years.
Producers in the following lines will see their licenses automatically renew as long as they meet their continuing education requirements:
- Accident and Health
- Personal Lines
- Variable Life
- Variable Annuity
- Medicare Supplement
- Long-Term Care
However, if licensees in these lines fail to meet continuing education requirements by the deadline, their licenses will expire. Producers with expired licenses have 4 months to meet the continuing education requirements. To have their licenses reinstated, they must also pay a $75 reinstatement fee.
If the four-month deadline passes, the producer would need to undergo their pre-licensing and state exam again before obtaining a new license.
Producers with other lines must file online to renew their insurance licenses after fulfilling all continuing education requirements.
Rules for Taking the Exam
Courses that are taken in person and webinar courses do not require an exam. Attendance and participation in the whole course are all that is needed to have those credits count toward the CE requirements for a particular term.
However, for online and self-study courses, passing an exam is required. All exams are closed-book, meaning course materials are not permitted to be accessed while taking the exam.
Online courses do not require a monitor. For self-study courses, licensees are required to have an impartial monitor who is neither a family member nor has any financial stake in the exam's results.
All exams must be passed with a score of 70 percent or higher in order for credit for the course to be applied. Examinees are allowed to take an exam an unlimited number of times until they pass.
Rules for Repeating a Course
While it is possible for you to take the same course more than once in a reporting period for your own benefit, you may not count the second pass of the course toward your continuing education requirements. However, you may take the same course multiple times in different reporting periods as long as you're not using the repeated course as part of carried-over credit hours.
Credit for Instructors
Instructors may receive the same credit for teaching a course as their students receive for attending the course. Just as with students, instructors can only receive credit for a course they teach once in a reporting period.
Once a course has been completed, it must be reported to the state within 15 days. The agent's NPN is needed to report course completion. The North Carolina Department of Insurance charges $2.05 per reported credit hour as a roster fee, which is automatically charged to the last credit card used on your account.
Insurance Continuing Education Requirement Exemptions
You may be exempt from North Carolina's continuing education requirements if active-duty military service or long-term illness keeps you from being able to complete continuing education requirements. However, even in the case of active-duty military service or long-term illnesses, LTC training requirements must be maintained. Contact the North Carolina Department of Insurance directly to assess your eligibility for an exemption.
North Carolina Flood Requirements
All adjusters, as well as property, casualty, and personal line producers are required to complete NFIP Flood Insurance Certification Training before selling, soliciting, or negotiating flood products or policies. They must retake these hours every other term after their initial training has been completed.
These training requirements can count toward regular continuing education requirements for the term in which they are complete. However, any extra flood requirements at the end of a term carried over to the next term as general credits, not as flood credits.
North Carolina Long-Term Care Training Requirements
New applicants for licensure must hold the following licenses before they can sell in NC:
1. Accident & Health and/or Sickness
2. Medicare Supplement/Long Term Care
Long-term care (LTC) producers are required to complete an eight-hour LTC certification training before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products or policies. Additionally, LTC producers must complete four hours of continuing training every other term.
These training requirements can count toward a licensee's regular continuing education requirements for the term in which they are completed.
Continuing-Education State Approval Letters
NORTH CAROLINA INSURANCE CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAM
September 28, 2017
0At Your Pace Online
1383 2nd Avenue
Gold Hill, OR 97527
COURSE APPROVAL CERTIFICATE
Course Number: 203696
Course Name: 3 Hour Ethics Review
Course Type: Self-Study
This course has been approved effective 03/17/2015 for North Carolina Continuing Education for the credit hours indicated. If you have any questions about or disagree with this credit award, you may appeal within 30 days of the date of this certificate without incurring any additional fees. Contact Prometric at Pro.firstname.lastname@example.org.
This certificate was issued on September 28, 2017
7941 Corporate Drive
Nottingham, MD 21236
If you have any questions, Call: 866.241.3121
Web site: www.prometric.com