Nevada Insurance Continuing Education
We are an approved Nevada Division of Insurance education provider (Provider ID#127295).
With At Your Pace Online, you don't have to spend a weekend or busy workday taking classes - our courses are online, so they can be done whenever you want. We never charge you hidden fees or force you to pay for reporting your course.
You'll get instant access as soon as you sign up, and when you're done, we will report your course completion electronically through Sircon within five business days, and we'll provide a Certificate of Completion for your records. Completing your Nevada Insurance Producer CE is easier than it's ever been.
Sign up now and see why we are the best online educator in the country!
Nevada 30 Hour Life & Health Review
This course provides all 30 hours of CE that you need! This course will review key concepts and principles of Life & Health insurance. It also includes 5 hours of ethics and the mandatory exam. No additional reporting fees.
NV Division of Insurance ID: 19470
Nevada 30 Hour Property & Casualty Review
This course provides all 30 hours of CE that you need! This course will review key concepts and principles of Property & Casualty insurance. It includes 5 hours of ethics, 25 hours of general content and the mandatory exam. No additional reporting fees.
NV Division of Insurance ID: 19491
Nevada 8 Hour Initial LTC Continuing Education Course
This 8 hour class is approved by the State of Nevada. It meets the mandatory initial continuing education requirement to start selling Long Term Care Insurance for licensed producers.
NV Division of Insurance ID: 19805
Nevada 4 Hour LTC Ongoing CE
This course applies to producers who need to renew their Long-Term Care Certification to continue selling LTC Insurance. This course will review key principles and concepts related to long-term care insurance policies. No additional reporting fees.
NV Division of Insurance ID:19793
Nevada 3 Hour NFIP Review
This course is designed to satisfy the education requirements to start selling Flood Insurance.The AYPO class on the National Flood Insurance Program is based on the Basic Flood Insurance Course Outline published in the Federal Register, and fulfills the directive in the 2004 Flood Insurance Reform Act. No additional reporting fees.
NV Division of Insurance ID: 19762
Nevada 3 Hour Ethics Review
This course applies to producers in all lines, and satisfies 3 hours of ethics training for any Nevada insurance producer. No additional reporting fees.
NV Division of Insurance ID: 19843
Nevada Insurance Continuing Education Requirements
Resident producers must complete a minimum of 30 credit hours of Nevada-approved continuing education subjects each triennial (3-year) license term. At least three of these hours must be in ethics-related subjects. CE coursework should be in courses approved for the lines of authority listed on a producer's license.
Resident adjusters must complete a minimum of 24 credit hours of approved adjuster-specific coursework each renewal period, three hours of which must be in ethics subjects. This requirement also applies to public adjusters and workers' compensation adjusters.
CE coursework may be in-classroom, online, or through self-study.
Rules for Non-Residents
Non-residents in compliance with their own state's CE requirements are exempt from completing Nevada CE provided the home state/s requirements are similar to those set by Nevada law. This includes CE requirements for producers selling annuity and long-term care products.
Non-resident producers who do not have a CE requirement in their state may be required to comply with standards set for their line of work by Nevada.
The Nevada Division of Insurance may verify a non-resident/s compliance and standing with their own state/s license requirements.
Carryover of Excess CE
Excess CE credit hours earned cannot be carried over from one triennium to the next.
Insurance License Term Renewal Requirements
Nevada insurance licenses must be renewed every three years based on the original licensing date. The deadline for this renewal is on the first day of the month following the license date of issuance. For example, if your license was originally issued in January, it will need to be renewed on February 1 in three years. Licensees are eligible to renew their license within the 90 days prior to this expiry date provided all CE requirements are met.
The Nevada Division of Insurance sends licensees a renewal notice approximately 2 months before their license expiration date. This reminder is sent to the licensee/s email address on record with the Department. It is the licensee/s responsibility to keep their contact information up to date with the Department and report any changes.
Licensees in compliance with CE requirements may renew online at the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) website or by mail. The Nevada Department of Insurance advises licensees to allow for a four-week review period for renewal submissions. CE requirements must be met prior to processing license renewal.
The license renewal fee is $185 for insurance producers, adjusters, and surplus lines brokers.
Licensees who fail to meet the requirements for license renewal have 30 days after its expiration to come into compliance. An expired license can be renewed online at the NIPR website or by mailing the renewal form to the Department with the required fee. There is a $247.50 late fee applied for late renewals.
Rules for Taking the Exam
Certification exams are closed book. Students are not permitted to access course materials during the exam. Online exams must be monitored by a non-biased third party. Family members, friends, employers, colleagues, or anyone with an interest in the licensee/s passing of the exam cannot act in this monitor role.
For online exam results to be accepted, monitors must complete an online Declaration of Compliance. This document confirms acknowledgment of and adherence to the specific requirements outlined by the State Department of Insurance. Failure to submit this document will disqualify exam results.
A score of 70 percent or higher is required to receive CE credit, and unlimited retakes are permitted until a passing score is achieved.
Rules for Repeating a Course
Credit will be granted only once for the completion of the same course repeated during an individual renewal period. A course can, however, be repeated for CE credit in different renewal periods.
Credit for Instructors
CE course instructors are eligible to receive the same credit as the students enrolled in the course taught. Instructors are only eligible to receive credit for an individual course taught once per renewal period, however.
Credits must be reported directly by the course provider to the state within 30 days of course completion. Licensees must keep a copy of each certificate in their files for four years.
It is recommended to complete all CE at least 30 days prior to your license expiration date to give the CE provider sufficient time to report successful completions to the Nevada Department of Insurance. However, CE courses can be completed at any time within the current license term.
CE students are required to pay a $1.00 per credit hour reporting fee. This fee is paid to their education provider and then forwarded to State Based Systems (SBS).
Insurance CE Requirement Exemptions
Some resident licensees may qualify for full or partial CE exemptions, including:
- Licensees who hold the CLU, CPCU, CIC, ChFC, or CFP designations
- Insurance professionals who have held a license in good standing for 20 consecutive years
- Agents holding a limited license
Licensees with who qualify for full or partial CE exemption must submit an Exemption Request Form to the Nevada Division of Insurance to verify this eligibility.
Nevada Annuity Insurance Requirements
There are no CE requirements for producers intending to sell, solicit, or negotiate annuity products in the state of Nevada.
Nevada Long-Term Care Training Requirements
Producers in Nevada selling long-term care policies are required to complete an initial one-time, eight-hour LTC training course.
To maintain their license, producers must complete four hours of LTC training every triennial renewal period. This training can apply to the licensee's CE requirements.
Nevada Flood Insurance Training Requirements
Resident producers licensed in fire and casualty must comply with the minimum training requirements set by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program (NIFP) in order to sell flood insurance policies. This involves the completion of a one-time, three-hour course.
Continuing-Education State Approval Letters
September 12, 2017
AYPO Programs Department
At Your Pace Online LLC
The Division of Insurance (Division) has approved At Your Pace Online as an education provider in Nevada. Those individuals interested in verifying approved providers and courses may do so online at www.sircon.com/nevada
Resident producers must comply with 30 hours of CE in a three year renewal period. The CE may be in a combination of the lines of authority that you are licensed for. Three of the 30 hours must be in the category of ethics. Individuals who become CE exempt are not required to complete the state mandated 30 hours of CE, however that does not preclude you from completing any federally required training such as flood, long-term care, annuity suitability, antifraud money laundering training that must be verified by the insurer.
If the licensee is a bail agent, bail enforcement agent, bail solicitor, or a general agent for bail they are required to complete 3 hours of education in approved surety course or bail specific course. There is no CE exemption for bail realted licenses. By utilizing the Sircon system, producers will be able to customize a search for CE courses that meet their specific search criteria.
Select Look up education courses/credits followed by Approved Courses Inquiry. Next select Nevada, then the course category. When the producers complete a CE course the CE provider will upload the completion into the individuals Producer Edge account which interfaces with the Division’s licensing records.
I hope this information was useful to you.
Producer Licensing, Chief
Nevada Division of Insurance
1818 E. College Parkway, Ste. #103
Carson City, NV 89706
(775) 687-0726; Fax (775) 687-0797