eInsuranceTraining.com

Texas Insurance Continuing Education

We are an approved Texas Department of Insurance education provider (Provider ID# 98057). Is it time to complete your continuing education credits to maintain your Texas insurance producer's license? Instead of spending your Saturday sitting in a classroom, why not try completing your courses online? AYPO offers a variety of packages to suit your CE needs, and you can take your classes anywhere, anytime, At Your Pace Online.

$67 TOP SELLER

Texas 24 Hour Property & Casualty Package (Classroom Equivalent)

clock hour icon 24h course

This course provides all 24 hours of CE needed to renew your license! The course includes the mandatory ethics hours, and is approved to satisfy your Self-Study & Classroom Equivalent requirements.

This course will review key concepts and principles of Property & Casualty insurance such as:

  • Mandatory Ethics Education
  • Dwelling Policies
  • Business Owners Insurance Policies
  • Federal Regulations & Laws

This course is approved continuing education for:

  • Insurance Producers
  • Adjusters
4.2 1515 Reviews
$67

Texas 24 Hour Life & Health Package (Classroom Equivalent)

clock hour icon 24h course

This course provides all 24 hours of CE needed to renew your license! The course includes the mandatory ethics class, and is approved to meet both your Self-Study & Classroom Equivalent requirements. This course will satisfy CE General and Ethics credits for both Insurance Producers and Adjusters

In this course, we will review key concepts and principles of Life & Health insurance such as:

  • Ethics Education
  • Long-Term Care Policies
  • Medicare
  • Federal Tax Consideration

Texas Department of Insurance Course ID: 105360 & 101508

4.2 1500 Reviews
$20

Texas 2 Hour Ethics Review

clock hour icon 2h course

This course satisfies 2 hours of ethics training for any Texas insurance agent, and applies to producers in all lines. This course is approved for:

  • Insurance Producers
  • Adjusters

We don't charge additional reporting fees!

4.4 989 Reviews
$39

Texas 12 Hour Life & Health Review (Classroom Equivalent)

clock hour icon 12h course

This course provides 12 hours Classroom Equivalent CE! It will review key concepts and principles of Life & Health insurance. It includes 2 Hours of Ethics & 10 hours of continuing education content and the mandatory exam. Together with our 12-hour Life & Health class, this will satisfy your 24 hours CE requirement. No additional reporting fees!

This course is approved for:

  • Insurance Producers
  • Adjusters
4.4 512 Reviews
$39

Texas 12 Hour Property & Casualty Review (Classroom Equivalent)

clock hour icon 12h course

This course is approved for:

  • Insurance Producers
  • Adjusters

This course provides 12 hours of Property & Casualty Classroom Equivalent Continuing Education! It includes 2 Hours of Ethics and 10 Hours of continuing education on Property & Casualty topics. Course fee includes the mandatory $0.75/hr filing fee.

4.5 377 Reviews
$18

Texas 4 Hour Annuity Suitability

clock hour icon 4h course

This 4 Hour course will meet your one time Certification Requirements to start selling Life Insurance Annuities in the state of Texas. This course is approved for:

  • Insurance Producers
  • Adjusters

No additional reporting fees!

4.5 141 Reviews
$39

Texas 12 Hour Life & Health Review Part 2

clock hour icon 12h course

This course provides 12 hours of CE! This course will review key concepts and principles of Life & Health insurance. It includes 12 hours of continuing education content and the mandatory exam.

This course is approved for:

  • Insurance Producers
  • Adjusters

No additional reporting fees! Note: This course does not include Ethics!

4.1 88 Reviews
$39

Texas 12 Hour Property & Casualty Review Part 2

clock hour icon 12h course

This course is approved for:

  • Insurance Producers
  • Adjusters

This course provides 12 hours of CE! It will review key concepts and principles of Property & Casualty insurance, and includes 12 hours of continuing education content and the mandatory exam. No additional reporting fees! Note: This course does not include Ethics!

4.4 94 Reviews
$18

Texas 4 Hour Long-Term Care Ongoing CE

clock hour icon 4h course

This course applies to producers who need to renew their Long-Term Care Certification to continue selling LTC Insurance. This course will review key principles and concepts related to long-term care insurance policies.

4.4 39 Reviews
$17

Texas 3 Hour NFIP Certification

clock hour icon 3h course

This course is approved for:

  • Insurance Producers
  • Adjusters

 

This 3 Hour course will meet your one time Certification Requirements to start selling Flood Insurance in the state of Texas. No additional reporting fees!

4.7 72 Reviews

Texas Insurance CE Requirements

Continuing Education requirements issued by the Texas Department of Insurance are updated regularly. Read on to find out more about TDI's rules for renewing your Texas Insurance License.

Resident Requirements

There are a few rules around continuing education that are required to renew your license. The hours completed need to:

  • Be approved by the Texas Department of Insurance (All of our courses are approved by the TDI)   
  • Align with classroom-equivalent requirements. 50% of your CE hours in a classroom setting or via a classroom-equivalent setup. Fortunately, you can find classroom-equivalent Texas continuing education online (like our courses). 
  • Pertain to your license type. Take continuing education courses that are relevant to the type of license you carry.

Types of Resident Licenses
  • Producers: During every 2-year renewal period, the TDI requires you to complete 24 hours of continuing education. 2 of those 24 hours need to focus on the topic of ethics. 
  • Adjusters: Like producers, Texas insurance adjusters need 24 hours of TDI-approved continuing education during every 2-year renewal cycle. Also like producers, you need 2 hours of ethics training as part of your 24 hours. 
  • Limited Lines: If you work with limited lines, you only need 10 hours of continuing education every 2 years to renew your license. That must include 2 hours of ethics training. 


If you do not meet the continuing education requirements before the expiration date of your license, you will have 90 days to complete the deficient number of hours and must pay a fine of $50 per every insufficient hour.  If you do not meet the requirements within 90 days of your expiration date, your license will be inactivated and you will need to apply for a new license.

 

Rules for Non-Residents

If you are a non-resident producer, you are not required to complete additional CE for your non-resident license in Texas if you have complied with the continuing education requirements of your home state.

 

Carrying Over CE Hours from a Previous Renewal Cycle or Repeating Hours

If you earn extra continuing education hours during your licensing term, they will not carry over to the next license term. You must complete the full 24 hours of CE within each 2-year compliance period. No excess CE credit hours will carry over into the following compliance term for any reason.

 

What Will I Learn During Texas Insurance Continuing Education?

We tailor the continuing education topics to you, ensuring you learn the right things to help you succeed in your insurance career. 

All of our 24-hour Texas insurance continuing education courses include the 2 hours of ethics training required by the TDI. 

Beyond that, let's take a look at a couple of the 24-hour continuing education packages we offer and the topics they cover.

Texas 24-Hour Life & Health Package

During this course, we start with the basics, like the responsibilities of life and health adjusters and producers and general insurance concepts. We also cover the state-required ethics training.

Then, throughout the course, we explore topics like:

  • Disability insurance
  • Medicare
  • Federal tax considerations for life insurance and annuities
  • Long-term care
  • Life insurance
  • Health insurance, including group health and dental plans
  • Standard policy provisions


This just scratches the surface. You can learn more about our 24-hour life & health package here.

Texas 24-Hour Property & Casualty Package

This course covers the basic property & casualty insurance concepts you need to know as an adjuster or producer and your responsibilities in your role. It also includes the two hours of ethics training required by the TDI.

We also delve into:

  • Dwelling and homeowners policies
  • Renters policies
  • Condominium policies
  • Personal and commercial auto policies
  • Business owners policies
  • Workers compensation
  • Flood insurance
  • Federal insurance regulations
  • Limited lines credit insurance


That's a quick overview of what this course will cover. If you want to learn more, check out the more detailed description of our 24-hour property & casualty course package.

 

Texas Insurance Product Training Requirements

There are a few specific insurance products that require specific training. Here is a detailed description of each one.

Annuity Requirements

If you are an agent who plans to sell, solicit, or negotiate an annuity contract or represent an insurer related to any annuity product, you are required to meet the state-specific requirements established by the Texas Department of Insurance. To meet the requirements:

  • You must complete a one-time, 4-hour certification training course before selling, soliciting, or negotiating an annuity contract.
  • You must also complete 8 hours of annuity CE during every subsequent 2-year licensing period. 


The four-hour annuity certification training course cannot be counted towards the overall 24-hour CE requirement for each license renewal period.

Long-Term Care Training Requirements

If you are planning on selling long-term care (LTC) partnership policies, you must hold a current life, accident, and health license. You must also complete a one-time, eight-hour LTC partnership certification course. If you are a licensed agent, you may count the eight hours towards your continuing education requirement for that renewal period. 

During each subsequent renewal period, you must complete at least 4 hours of TDI-certified LTC training which can be counted toward the 24-hour overall CE requirement.

NFIP Flood Requirements 

If you are planning on selling flood insurance in Texas, you are required to complete a minimum of 3 hours of training established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program. 

Medicare Training Requirements 

To be certified to sell Medicare supplemental insurance, you need to complete an initial eight-hour Medicare-related course, then take four hours of Medicare-focused continuing education before each renewal.

 

When and How to Renew Your Texas Insurance License

In Texas, individual licenses are valid for 2 two years. It expires on the last day of your birth month on a biennial basis. 

You can use the TDI's Insurance License Renewal portal to process your renewal online without a processing fee. There's a catch, though. You need to use this tool more than 30 days before your renewal is due.

If you have less than a month until your license expiration, you can use Sircon's renewal tool (with an $8.25 processing fee) or the National Insurance Producer Registry renewal portal (with a $5 processing fee). Only use the NIPR tool if you have more than five days before license expiration.  

It is highly recommended that you complete all continuing education credits at least 30 days before your license expiration date. This will ensure timely reporting of your completion to the Texas Department of Insurance. While you may earn your required CE credits at any point during your two-year license term, completing the requirement well before the expiration date is preferred.

 

Texas Insurance CE Exam Requirements

You must pass all required final exams before submitting a license renewal application to the Texas Department of Insurance. When you take your final exam online, the certification exam will be closed-book, and you will not have access to any course materials while taking the exam. 

Texas producers must pass their final exam with a score of 70% or higher to be eligible for CE credit. CE students may retake an exam an unlimited number of times until a passing score is earned.

 

Credit for Instructors

Teaching a CE course does not earn the instructor credit toward their required 24 hours of continuing education.

 

Reporting Rules

CE course providers must report continuing education credits within 30 days of successful course completion. You must have a Texas license number to report CE to the Texas Department of Insurance. When reporting CE hours, you are required to pay a course reporting fee of 88 cents per credit hour. This applies to online, self-study, and classroom courses. 

 

Insurance CE Requirement Exemptions

You may apply for an exemption from continuing education requirements if you have been licensed for 20 years or more. Your license must be held under the Texas Insurance Code and the 20-year period of licensure must be continuous - with no gaps longer than 90 days - to be considered eligible for this exemption. 

Additionally, If you meet specific criteria of illness, medical disability, military deployment, or circumstances beyond your control, you may apply for an extension to complete your continuing education requirements.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does a Texas insurance license last?

Texas insurance licenses last for two years. When you need to renew your license, that includes completing the required continuing education biennially to keep your license active.

How do I check the status of my Texas insurance license?

An organization called Sircon manages transcripts for the TDI. You can use their inquiries page to look up your transcript and see how many continuing education hours you've completed. Click continuing education transcript inquiry, then select Texas from the drop-down menu. You'll need your license number to pull up your transcript. 

How do I check the status of my Texas adjuster license?

The process works the same for insurance producers and adjusters. Use the Sircon lookup tool and follow the steps we laid out in the question above to check how many continuing education hours you've completed.

Continuing-Education State Approval Letters

Texas Department of Insurance

Financial Regulation Division - Agent and Adjuster Licensing Office - Continuing Education 

333 Guadalupe, Austin, Texas 78701 PO Box 149104, Austin, Texas 78714-9104

(512) 676-6500 | F: (512) 490-1054 | (866) 554-4926 | TDI.txas.gov

 

08/13/2020

 

!!AT YOUR PACE ONLINE!!

1383 2ND AVE

GOLD HILL OR 97525-8701

Provider Course Registration

Provider Number: 98057

Provider Expiration: 6/10/2022

Continuing Education Course Number: 105360

Dear MIKE MELVIN: 

We have certified the following course for continuing education for insurance licensees. The certification is valid for two years. You are required to apply for the renewal of the course if you wish to give the course past the original expiration date. 

Course Title: 12 Hour Property & Casualty Review (Classroom Equivalent) Course ID: 105359 

Course Valid Dates: 8/25/2020 - 8/25/2022 

Credit Type: General/Ethics 

Credit Hours: 10/2 

Instruction Method: Classroom Equivalent 

 

All CE courses are open to all licensees covered by Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Title 28, Sections 19.1001-19.1030. 

You must issue certificates of completion within 30 days of completing the course under TAC 28, Section19.1011. The certificate completion must list the provider name, course name, course number, course completion date, credit type, and credit hours. 

 

Sincerely,

Jonas Kelly 

Continuing Education Program Agent and Adjuster Licensing Office

 

 

6/29/2020

Provider Course Registration

Provider Number: 98057    

Provider Expiration: 6/10/2022

Continuing Education Course Number: 105360

 

!!AT YOUR PACE ONLINE!!

1383 2ND AVE

GOLD HILL OR 97525-8701

The course entitled 12 Hour Life & Health Review (Classroom Equivalent) is certified for insurance

licensee continuing education (CE). The course is valid for a period beginning 8/4/2020 and expiring

8/4/2022.

The course is valid for two years as long as your provider registration remains active.

Following is a breakdown of course credit hours.

ALL CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES ARE OPEN TO ALL LICENSEES covered by the CE Rules, 28 TAC §§19.1001-19.1030. Your completion certificates must list the following certification information:

Course Number 105360

Instruction Method: Classroom Equivalent

Credit Type        Credit Hours         

General               Ethics

10                         2

 

NOTE: Excess of Ethics or Consumer Protection hours over licensee’s requirement is counted as general

hours. Adjuster pre-license credit may NOT be used for CE credit.

ATTN: MIKE MELVIN

 

The course entitled 4 Hour Long-Term Care Ongoing CE is certified for insurance licensee continuing

education (CE). The course is valid for a period beginning on 3/22/2020 and expiring on 3/22/2022. The course

is valid for two years as long as your provider registration remains active. Following is a breakdown of

course credit hours. ALL CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES ARE OPEN TO ALL LICENSEES

covered by the CE Rules, 28 TAC §§19.1001-19.1030. Your completion certificates must list the following

certification information:

 

Course Number: 103840

Instruction Method: Self-Study

Credit Type: LCE-LTC-Partnership

Credit Hours: 4

 

 

 

Sincerely,

WENDY CASTELLANOS, ACSR

Continuing Education Program

Agent and Adjuster Licensing Office

Texas Department of Insurance

ATTN: MIKE MELVIN

 

The course entitled 4 Hour Annuity Suitability Review is certified for insurance licensee continuing education (CE). The course is valid for a period beginning 4/17/2019 and expiring 4/17/2021. The course is valid for two years as long as your provider registration remains active. Following is a breakdown of course credit hours. ALL CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES ARE OPEN TO ALL LICENSEES covered by the CE Rules, 28 TAC §§19.1001-19.1030. Your completion certificates must list the following certification information:

 

Course Number: 100066

Instruction Method: Self-Study

Credit Type: Cert-Annuity

Credit Hours: 4

 

 

 

Sincerely,

WENDY CASTELLANOS, ACSR

Continuing Education Program

Agent and Adjuster Licensing Office

Texas Department of Insurance

Texas Department of Insurance

Financial Regulation Division - Agent and Adjuster Licensing Office - Continuing Education 

333 Guadalupe, Austin, Texas 78701 PO Box 149104, Austin, Texas 78714-9104

(512) 676-6500 | F: (512) 490-1054 | (866) 554-4926 | TDI.txas.gov

 

9/12/2017

 

!!AT YOUR PACE ONLINE!!

Attn: MIKE MELVIN

1383 2nd Avenue 

Gold Hill, OR 97525

 

ATTN: MIKE MELVIN 

 

The course titled 12 Hour Property and Casualty Review Part 2 is certified for insurance licensee continuing education (CE). The course is valid for a period beginning 09/28/2017 and expiring 9/28/2019. The course is valid for two years as long as your provider registration remains active. 

 

Course Number: 101509                              Instruction Method: Self-Study

Credit Type  Credit Hours
General  12

NOTE: Excess of Ethics or Consumer Protection hours over licensee's requirement is counted as general hours. Adjuster pre-license credit may NOT be used for CE credit. 

 

COURSE ROSTERS MUST BE ELECTRONICALLY FILED AFTER THE COURSE COMPLETION FOR ALL TEXAS RESIDENTS AND NON-RESIDENT ADJUSTER DHS LICENSEES. You may file your rosters at www.Sircon.com

 

Sincerely,

 

Ricardo Bodden

Continuing Education Program

Agent and Adjuster Licensing Office

Texas Department of Insurance 

 

 

Texas Department of Insurance

Financial Regulation Division - Agent and Adjuster Licensing Office - Continuing Education 

333 Guadalupe, Austin, Texas 78701 PO Box 149104, Austin, Texas 78714-9104

(512) 676-6500 | F: (512) 490-1054 | (866) 554-4926 | TDI.txas.gov

 

9/12/2017

 

!!AT YOUR PACE ONLINE!!

Attn: MIKE MELVIN

1383 2nd Avenue 

Gold Hill, OR 97525

 

ATTN: MIKE MELVIN 

 

The course titled 12 Hour Life and Health Review Part 2 is certified for insurance licensee continuing education (CE). The course is valid for a periodf beginning 09/28/2017 and expiring 9/28/2019. The course is valid for two uyears as long as your provider registration remains active. 

 

Course Number: 101509                              Instruction Method: Self-Study

Credit Type  Credit Hours
General  12

NOTE: Excess of Ethics or Consumer Protection hours over licensee's requirement is counted as general hours. Adjuster pre-license credit may NOT be used for CE credit. 

 

COURSE ROSTERS MUST BE ELECTRONICALLY FILED AFTER THE COURSE COMPLETION FOR ALL TEXAS RESIDENTS AND NON-RESIDENT ADJUSTER DHS LICENSEES. You may file your rosters at www.Sircon.com

 

Sincerely,

 

Ricardo Bodden

Continuing Education Program

Agent and Adjuster Licensing Office

Texas Department of Insurance