eInsuranceTraining.com

Utah Insurance Continuing Education

We are an approved Utah Insurance Department education provider (Provider ID# 175991). You can meet your Producer and Adjuster continuing education requirements for your Utah insurance license without setting foot in a classroom. At Your Pace Online offers convenient and flexible classes you can complete on your own schedule. Find the course or package that meets your CE needs, and sign up today. You'll get instant access to your classes, and support whenever you need it!

$79 TOP SELLER

Utah 24 Hour Life & Health Complete Package

clock hour icon 24h course

This course package provides all 24 hours of CE and includes the required Classroom Equivalent hours you need! This course will review key concepts and principles of Life & Health insurance. It includes 3 hours of Ethics and 21 hours of Life and Health continuing education content. 

This course is approved by the Utah Insurance Department (ID 40538 & 40536)

4.1 137 Reviews
$18

Utah Annuity Suitability and Best Interest 4 HR CE

clock hour icon 4h course

This four-hour training course is designed to meet the National Association of Insurance Commissioners’ (NAIC) education requirements for producers authorized to sell annuities. Specifically, this course includes the 2020 updates to the NAIC’s amended Model Regulations for annuity transactions. This course covers annuity suitability and best interest laws, as well as in-depth information on types of annuities, understanding each party of an annuity, contract structures, recordkeeping, contract provisions, and more. This course will teach students how to help a customer choose an annuity product that is right for them, and how to do so lawfully.

This course is approved by the Utah Insurance Department (ID: 44019)

3.6 8 Reviews
$79

Utah 24 Hour Property & Casualty Complete Package

clock hour icon 24h course

This course package provides all 24 hours of CE and includes the required Classroom Equivalent hours you need! This course will review key concepts and principles of Property & Casualty insurance. It includes 3 hours of Ethics and 21 hours of Property and Casualty continuing education content. 

This course is approved by the Utah Insurance Department (ID 40540 & 40542)

4.3 70 Reviews
$79

Utah 24 Hour Accident and Health Adjuster Complete Package

clock hour icon 24h course

This course package provides all 24 hours of CE and includes the required Classroom Equivalent hours you need! This course will review key concepts and principles of Life, Accident, & Health insurance. It includes 3 hours of Ethics and 21 hours of Life and Health continuing education content. 

This course is approved by the Utah Insurance Department (ID 40539 & 40537)

$79

Utah 24 Hour Property and Casualty Adjuster Complete Package

clock hour icon 24h course

This course package provides all 24 hours of CE and includes the required Classroom Equivalent hours you need! This course will review key concepts and principles of Property & Casualty insurance. It includes 3 hours of Ethics and 21 hours of Property and Casualty continuing education content. 

This course is approved by the Utah Insurance Department (ID 40543 & 40541)

4.4 5 Reviews
$42

Utah 12 Hour Life and Health Review with Ethics (Classroom Equivalent)

clock hour icon 12h course

This classroom equivalent continuing education course will provide insurance producers with 12 hours of training on ethics and life and health insurance. The course includes 3 hours of Ethics credit. This course explores several topics including ethical duties, annuities, qualified retirement plans, medical plans, group health insurance, and long-term care insurance.

This course is approved by the Utah Insurance Department (ID 40538)

4.6 36 Reviews
$42

Utah 12 Hour Property and Casualty Adjuster Review with Ethics (Classroom Equivalent)

clock hour icon 12h course

Insurance adjusters who are looking to renew their license will find 12 hours of continuing education content on property and casualty insurance in this course, which includes 3 hours of Ethics credit. This course talks about ethics, homeowners insurance, and commercial coverage policies.

This course is approved by the Utah Insurance Department (ID 40543)

$42

Utah 12 Hour Life & Health Review

clock hour icon 12h course

This course applies to producers in all lines of insurance. This course provides 12 hours of the 24 hours of CE that you need! This course will review key concepts and principles of Life & Health insurance. It includes 12 hours of general content. 

This course is approved by the Utah Insurance Department (ID 40536)

3.9 7 Reviews
$42

Utah 12 Hour Property and Casualty Review with Ethics (Classroom Equivalent)

clock hour icon 12h course

Insurance producers who are looking to renew their producer license will find 12 hours of continuing education content on property and casualty insurance in this course, which includes 3 hours of Ethics credit. This course talks about ethics, homeowners insurance, and commercial coverage policies.

This course is approved by the Utah Insurance Department (ID 40542)

4.6 15 Reviews
$42

Utah 12 Hour Accident and Health Adjuster Review with Ethics (Classroom Equivalent)

clock hour icon 12h course

This classroom equivalent continuing education course will provide insurance adjusters with 12 hours of training on ethics and life and health insurance. The course includes 3 hours of Ethics credit. This course explores several topics including ethical duties, annuities, qualified retirement plans, medical plans, group health insurance, and long-term care insurance.

This course is approved by the Utah Insurance Department (ID 40539)

$42

Utah 12 Hour Accident and Health Adjuster Review

clock hour icon 12h course

This course applies to adjusters, and provides 12 hours of the 24 hours of CE that you need! This course will review key concepts and principles of Life & Health insurance. It includes 12 hours of general content. 

This course is approved by the Utah Insurance Department (ID 40537)

$42

Utah 12 Hour Property & Casualty Review

clock hour icon 12h course

This course applies to producers in all lines of insurance. This course provides 12 hours of the 24 hours of CE that you need! This course will review key concepts and principles of Property & Casualty insurance. It includes 12 hours of general content. 

This course is approved by the Utah Insurance Department (ID 40540)

4.3 9 Reviews
$42

Utah 12 Hour Property and Casualty Adjuster Review

clock hour icon 12h course

This course applies to adjusters, and provides 12 hours of the 24 hours of CE that you need! This course will review key concepts and principles of Property & Casualty insurance. It includes 12 hours of general content. 

This course is approved by the Utah Insurance Department (ID 40541)

$18

Utah 4 Hour Long-Term Care Certification/Review CE (Classroom Equivalent)

clock hour icon 4h course

This Classroom Equivalent course meets the mandatory initial continuing education requirement to start selling Long Term Care Insurance for licensed producers. It will also satisfy the requirements to renew your LTC certification. This course will review key principles and concepts related to long-term care insurance policies. No additional reporting fees!

This course is approved by the Utah Insurance Department (ID: 31976)

4.4 38 Reviews
$17

Utah 3 Hour NFIP Review (Classroom Equivalent)

clock hour icon 3h course

This 3 Hour Classroom Equivalent course will provide 3 of the 5 hours you need to start selling Flood Insurance in the state of Utah. No additional reporting fees!

This course is approved by the Utah Insurance Department (ID: 31882)

4.4 16 Reviews
$17

Utah 3 Hour Ethics Review

clock hour icon 3h course

This course satisfies all 3 hours of Ethics training for any Utah insurance professional. The course will take an in-depth look at a number of issues surrounding ethics and insurance.

This course is approved by the Utah Insurance Department (ID: 40535)

4.5 38 Reviews
$13

Utah Annuity Suitability and Best Interest 1 HR CE

clock hour icon 1h course

In this one-hour course, students will learn about the most recent updates to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners’ (NAIC) Model Regulation for Suitability in Annuity Transactions, with emphasis on best interest obligations to the consumer. Specifically, this course covers appropriate sales practices, annuity disclosure requirements, and annuity replacements.

This course is approved by the Utah Insurance Department (ID: 44018)

4.3 6 Reviews
$13

Utah 1 Hour Anti-money Laundering (Classroom Equivalent)

clock hour icon 1h course

This Classroom Equivalent Anti-Money Laundering course will cover you for 1 hour of General Credit and applies to producers in all lines. In this course we will explain the impact the crime of money laundering has on the insurance industry. It also explains the efforts taken to prevent money laundering by the industry. No additional reporting fees!

This course is approved by the Utah Insurance Department (ID: 31989)

4.6 37 Reviews

Utah Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Resident Requirements

Producers and adjusters who are residents of Utah must complete a total of 24 hours of continuing education (CE) during each license renewal period. The 24 hours must meet the following guidelines:

  • You must complete at least 12 of the 24 hours in a classroom or classroom-equivalent course.
  • No more than 12 of the 24 hours can be spent on courses provided by insurers. 
  • Three of the 24 hours must be in ethics courses, but you can focus on any line of insurance for the remaining 21 hours. 


All 24 of your CE hours must be from courses approved by the Utah Insurance Department. As the producer, you are required to keep proof of course completion on file. The Utah Insurance Department can conduct random audits by mail at any time.

 

Rules for Non-Residents

If you are a non-resident producer, you are not required to complete additional CE for your non-resident license in Utah if you have complied with the continuing education requirements of your home state.

 

Carryover of Excess CE

If you earn more than 24 hours of continuing education credit during a single licensing term, they will not carry over to the next license term. You must complete the full 24 hours of CE within each two-year compliance period. No excess CE credit hours will carry over into the following compliance term for any reason.

 

Insurance License Term Renewal Requirements

In Utah, individual licenses are valid for two years. Utah uses a birth month renewal system, which means:

  • Individual licenses expire every two years.
  • The new renewal date will fall on the last day of your birth month. 
  • For a new license, you will need to renew anywhere between 24 to 35 months from the original license issue date, depending on your birth month.
  • After the first renewal, your renewals will continue to occur every two years at the end of your birth month. 


You should receive a renewal notice about two months before the expiration of your license. The Utah Insurance Department requires electronic renewal applications and no longer accepts paper renewals. You will be required to pay a fee at the time of your renewal. 

Fingerprints are not required for license renewals. 

You must complete all of your continuing education requirements prior to license renewal. Your provider must report your CE within 14 days of your completion date.

It is highly recommended that you complete all continuing education credits at least 30 days before your license expiration date. This will ensure timely reporting of your CE credits to the Utah Insurance Department. While you may take your required CE at any point during your two-year license term, taking it well before the expiration date is preferred.

If you meet specific criteria of illness, medical disability, military deployment, or circumstances beyond your control, you may apply for an extension to complete your continuing education requirement. 

 

Rules for Taking the Exam

You must pass all required exams before submitting a license renewal application to the Utah Insurance Department. When you take your final exam online, the certification exam will be closed-book. You will not have access to any course materials or personal notes while taking the exam. Utah producers must pass their final exam with a score of 70% or higher to be eligible for continuing education credit. 

If you don't pass the exam on the first try, don't worry! CE students may retake an exam an unlimited number of times until a passing score is earned. 

 

Rules for Repeating a Course

Per Utah requirements, you may not receive duplicate credit for the completion of the same course more than one time within a two-year renewal period. 

 

Credit for Instructors

Instructors teaching CE courses will receive twice the number of continuing education credits as students for any course they teach.

 

Reporting Rules

CE course providers must report your CE credit within 14 days of the successful completion of the course. You must pay the reporting fee of $1 per credit hour. This applies to all online, self-study, and classroom courses. 

 

Insurance CE Requirement Exemptions

If you have completed at least 20 years of licensure in good standing, you are exempt from the CE requirement. You must request and receive approval for the exemption from the Utah Insurance Department. 

You will be exempt from CE requirements if you hold and maintain any of the following designations:

  • CLU
  • ChFC and RHU with completion of the PACE program
  • CPCU with completion of the CPD program
  • CFP, REBC, CIC, ACSR, CRM, SOFE, or IRES with completion of their CE requirements
  • You may be exempt from CE if you meet any of the following criteria:
  • You are performing military service.
  • You are performing voluntary service.
  • You meet other extenuating circumstances, such as long-term medical disability.


To apply for an exemption, you must provide proof of good standing and send an exemption request to the Utah Insurance Department. 

 

Annuity Requirements

Starting July 1, 2024, insurance producers who sell annuities must complete an annuity best interest course.

If you have taken an annuity course prior to July 1, 2024, you must:

  • Complete a one-hour annuity best interest course OR complete the four-hour annuity best interest course. The one-hour course is available until June 30, 2025.

If you have not previously taken an annuity course, you must:

  • Complete the four-hour annuity best interest course before selling annuity products.

 

Long-Term Care Training

If you are a Utah producer with an accident and health line of authority, you must complete three hours of initial training before selling long-term care insurance. Thereafter, you must complete three hours of ongoing training during every two-year licensing period.  

 

Flood Requirements

Utah requires licensees who sell flood insurance to comply with the minimum of three hours of training required by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.