Rhode Island Insurance Continuing Education
We are an approved Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation Insurance Division Continuing Education Provider (Provider ID# 2813).
Get everything you need for one low price. Unlike other education companies, we cover your reporting fee so the price you see is exactly what you pay.
Fulfill your continuing education requirements with an experienced and dedicated Online Insurance Continuing Education provider. Our courses can be completed at your own pace, and save your progress automatically. Our world class customer service team is ready to make sure you can get your education and get back to work.
Rhode Island 24 Hour Property and Casualty Package
This complete course will provide you with the entire 24 hours of continuing education you need to renew your Property and Casualty license for the State of Rhode Island. It includes portions on Ethics, P&C Fundamentals, and Individual and Family P&C, as well as Commercial P&C. There will also be a final examination and you will be provided with a Certificate of Completion.
Rhode Island 24 Hour Life and Health Package
This all-in-one course will supply you with the entire 24 hours of continuing education you need to renew your Life and Health license for the State of Rhode Island. It includes portions on Ethics, Life Fundamentals, Health Fundamentals, and a section on the important topics of Federal Regulation and Long-Term Care. There will also be a final examination and you will be provided with a Certificate of Completion.
Rhode Island 8 Hour Property and Casualty Review
This course contains instruction on property and casualty insurance. Insurance producers who complete this course will gain 8 hours of continuing education that can be put toward requirements needed to renew a professional license. The focus of this course is common forms of insurance including dwelling, homeowners, and automobile insurance.
Rhode Island 8 hour Life and Health Review
This course is a collection of lessons that will provide an insurance producer with 8 hours of training on life and accident and health insurance. This course talks about insurance in general, life insurance policy provisions, the Medicare program, and long term care insurance.
Rhode Island 4 Hour Annuity Best Interest Course
This 4 hour training course is designed to meet the National Association of Insurance Commissioners' (NAIC) education requirements for producers authorized to sell annuities. Specifically, this course includes the 2020 updates to the NAIC's amended Model Regulations for annuity transactions. This course covers annuity suitability and best interest laws, as well as in-depth information on types of annuities, understanding each party of an annuity, contract structures, recordkeeping, contract provisions, and more. This course will teach students how to help a customer choose an annuity product that is right for them, and how to do so lawfully.
Rhode Island 5 Hour P&C: Fundamentals
This course will satisfy 5 hours of continuing education for Property & Casualty producers in Rhode Island. It is designed to provide a refresher on the basics of Property and Casualty insurance, and to provide some education on toxic mold and flood insurance.
Rhode Island 5 Hour L&H: Federal Regulations & LTC
This 5-hour course is designed to satisfy 5 hours of continuing education for Rhode Island insurance producers in the Life & Health lines. In this course, we'll talk about the federal tax regulations that apply to life and health insurance, and we'll take a look at the changing landscape of Long-Term Care insurance.
Rhode Island 3 Hour Ethics for Insurance Producers
This course contains the 3 hours of mandatory ethics instruction needed for continuing education to renew your Rhode Island Insurance Producer license.
Rhode Island 1 Hour Annuity Best Interest Course
In this 1-hour course, students will learn about the 2020 updates to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) Model Regulation for Suitability in Annuity Transactions, with emphasis on best interest obligations to the consumer. Specifically, this course covers appropriate sales practices, annuity disclosure requirements, and annuity replacements.
Rhode Island Insurance Continuing Education Requirements
Unless you qualify for one of the exemptions below, you must complete continuing education (CE) requirements to solicit, sell, or negotiate insurance policies in Rhode Island.
For residents of Rhode Island, those continuing education requirements equate to 24 hours of continuing education every two years.
Of those 24 hours of continuing education, three hours each term must be dedicated to studying ethics.
Producers wishing to deal with specific types of insurance may have additional, specific continuing education requirements. These specific requirements can count toward the overall 24-hours of continuing education needed.
Rules for Non-Residents
With the exception of those non-residents doing long-term care training, non-residents are exempt from Rhode Island's continuing education requirements. However, non-residents are still required to pay the Rhode Island continuing education tracking fee.
Non-residents must also complete any continuing education requirements in the state in which they are a resident.
Carryover of Excess Continuing Education
You may carry over up to 12 hours of excess CE credits per term. This ensures that Rhode Island insurance agents continue to be up-to-date on the current information in the industry.
Keep in mind that any ethics hours that are carried over into the next term are carried over as general hours, not as ethics hours. This means that at least three hours of CE ethics credits must be earned in each two-year renewal period.
Insurance License Term Renewal Requirements
Licenses must be renewed every two years. Renewal dates are based on the licensee's birthday and expire on the last day of the licensee's birth month.
The year that your license expires is based on the year you received your initial license. For example, if you received your initial license in an even-numbered year, then your license will always need to be renewed on the last day of your birth month in even-numbered years.
Licenses do not automatically renew. To renew your license, you must have completed your continuing education requirements and be within 90 days of your license expiration date. It costs $120 to renew your producer license.
Rules for Taking the Exam
Not all continuing education courses require an exam for the course to count toward your CE credit requirement. Classroom and webinar courses are attendance-based. Just by showing up, you can ensure that these hours will count toward your continuing education requirement for the term.
However, if you choose to take online or self-study courses, you must pass a certification exam at the end of the course for the credits to count toward your CE requirements. These exams do not require a monitor, but are closed-book, meaning that you cannot access study materials while taking these exams.
You must score a 70% or higher on an exam for your hours to count toward your continuing education requirements. However, you have an unlimited number of chances to retake the exam until a passing score is achieved.
Rules for Repeating a Course
If you repeat a course more than once during a renewal period, the repeated course hours cannot be counted toward your continuing education requirements for that term. However, you may take the same course multiple times during different terms.
Credit for Instructors
Instructors teaching CE courses may receive the same number of credits as students who are enrolled in the course.
All continuing education hours must be reported to the state within 10 days of completing a course. The agent's license number or NPN must be included in the report.
The Rhode Island Insurance Division will charge a $1.00 reporting fee for each credit hour you report. This fee will automatically be charged to the last credit card used on your account.
Insurance Continuing Education Requirement Exemptions
There are a number of exemptions to Rhode Island continuing education requirements.
In addition to non-residents being exempt from continuing education requirements, adjusters and appraisers are also exempt from these requirements.
Additionally, Rhode Island has exemptions for insurance agents who have been in the field for a long time. If you meet either of the following criteria, you are exempt from continuing education requirements in Rhode Island:
- If you are at least 55 years old at the time of renewal and have held a Rhode Island license for the past 25 years continuously, OR
- If you are at least 60 years old at the time of renewal and have held a license for at least 20 years.
Rhode Island Annuity Training Requirements
Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Rhode Island, you are required to complete a one-time Annuity Suitability Certification Training. This training is four hours long and the hours can count toward your overall 24 hours of continuing education credit for the term.
Effective April 1, 2021, the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation Insurance Division (Department) has adopted the NAIC's annuity suitability best interest standards. Rhode Island producers who are already licensed and have completed suitability training prior to April 1, 2021, may complete either the new 4-hour Annuity Products - Best Interest Certification Training or the 1-hour update course before October 1, 2021. The availability of the 1-credit course expires on September 30, 2021. Individuals licensed after April 1, 2021 and who wish to sell annuity products must complete the new 4-hour best interest course before selling.
Rhode Island Long-Term Care Training Requirements
Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating long-term care policies or products in Rhode Island, producers must complete a one-time Long-Term Care Certification Training. This training is eight hours and can count toward your overall 24 hours of continuing education credit for the term.
Additionally, long-term care producers must complete four hours of long-term care CE training in every subsequent two-year renewal period. This training is due on the anniversary of the date you originally completed your eight-hour Long-Term Care Certification Training.
These long-term care training requirements apply to Rhode Island residents and non-residents. However, non-residents who complete equivalent training in their state of residency may use that training to satisfy the requirement in Rhode Island.
Rhode Island Flood Training Requirements
Before selling flood insurance policies in Rhode Island, property, casualty, and personal line producers must complete a one-time NFIP Flood Insurance Certification Training. This training takes three hours and can count toward the overall 24 hours of continuing education credit for the term.
Continuing-Education State Approval Letters
At Your Pace Online
Documentation of State Approved
Providership and Courses
Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation – Insurance Division
Name: At Your Pace
Online ID: 2813
1383 2nd Ave, Gold Hill, OR 97525.
(877)724-6150 (866) 333-9840
|Name||Course ID||# of Credits||Expiration|
|8 Hour P&C: Individual & Family Topics||6000055783||8||10/31/2021|
|5 Hour P&C: Fundamentals||6000055784||5||10/31/2021|
|8 Hour P&C: Commercial Topics||6000055785||8||10/31/2021|
|3 Hour Ethics for Insurance Producers||6000017598||3||09/30/2021|
|5 Hour L&H: Federal Regulations & LTC||6000019149||5||10/31/2021|
|8 Hour Life: Fundamentals||6000019150||8||10/31/2021|
|8 Hour Health: Fundamentals||6000019176||8||10/31/2021|